Weatherford Democrat

April 23, 2014

Callaway gets A+

English teacher named 'Teacher of the Year' at Marva Collins awards ceremony

Weatherford Democrat


Anita Callaway, an English teacher at Daniel Ninth Grade Center, was named “Teacher of the Year” during the 2014 Marva Collins Teaching Excellence Awards ceremony held April 15 in the Aledo High School auditorium.

The annual event honors Aledo ISD teachers and other employees.

Callaway, entering her seventh year of teaching in Aledo and selected from a pool of 30 applicants, received a $10,000 award from the Reilly Family Foundation, the event’s major sponsor since 2000.

Bill Arnold, of the Reilly Family Foundation, presented the award.

“Jackie Rains and I have tried to do right by Beverly and Mike Reilly and the entire Reilly family,” he said. “We work hard each year to identify the very best of the best in your fine school district.”

“Thank you Bill and Jackie for your time and dedication to the foundation,” Callaway said when she reached the podium, after thanking administrators, school board members and community partners for their dedication.

“Your charge to award excellence in education is a difficult one, and I don’t envy you. Thank you for honoring all the teachers.”

Many other awards were presented.

The “Don R. Daniel Principal of the Year Award,” presented by former superintendent Don Daniel, went to Aledo High School principal Dan Peterson.

Daniel, who thanked Malcolm Louden of the Walsh Ranch Foundation for establishing an endowment for the award in 2011, shared comments from a parent, who was thrilled that Peterson attended a Saturday game that her child, a special education student, participated in.

Former superintendent Dan Manning, who also thanked Louden for establishing an award in Manning’s name in 2013, presented his first $2,500 IDEA award to Julie Hall, of McAnally Intermediate, who suggested a virtual science fair.

“I wanted to honor an innovative educator, someone that went outside the normal bounds of the calling of being a teacher or an educator,” he said.

Randal McKinney, an Aledo High School history teacher in his 27th year of teaching at Aledo ISD, received the Faulk Company Award for “Secondary Teacher” from presenter Tim Faulk, on behalf of Dean Faulk.

“All three of my children put this teacher in a real special category,” Faulk said.

Holly Elgin, who teaches at McAnally Intermediate, received the Hardick Family Award for “Intermediate Teacher” from presenter Jim Hardick.

Rebekah Getz, a first grade teacher at Stuard Elementary, wiped away tears as she accepted the F. Howard and Mary D. Walsh Award for “Beginning Teacher” from presenter Jimmy Soules.

Janie Baucum, a physical education teacher at Stuard Elementary with 28 years’ experience, high-fived Citty as she received the First Financial Bank Award for “Elementary Teacher” from him, on behalf of Mike Carter.

Dottie Simmons and Jim Hardick presented the Paraprofessional Award to Lindsey Coomer and the Child Nutrition Award to Angie Owen.

Mike Trammell presented the Buford-Thompson Company Transportation Award to Ronnie Wilcox and the Maintenance Award to Jeff Smith.

“I’m very proud of our longstanding partnership with Aledo ISD,” Trammell said.

The VLK Architects Inc. Technology Award, presented by Leesa Vardeman, went to Linda Hudson.

Marsha Miholovich presented the Marsha Miholovich Professional Support Award to Brenda Day, an Aledo Middle School librarian, saying Day “is always on a mission to serve others — teachers and students.”