Weatherford Democrat

May 25, 2013

Weatherford College Faculty Member of the Year

Weatherford Democrat

Tonya Edwards, Respiratory Care program director, was recognized at the Weatherford College Commencement May 11 as 2013 Faculty Member of the Year.

Edwards, who earned a bachelor’s degree in respiratory care from Midwestern State University and her master’s in education at Abilene Christian University, has been with WC since 1998. She has served as president of the Faculty Senate, secretary of the Faculty Advisory Council, chair of the Technical Program Appeals Committee and advisor for the WC Respiratory Club.

“In addition to being a fantastic instructor, Tonya has worked hard to boost our WC scholarship program,” said Brent Baker, vice president of Institutional Advancement. “She was instrumental in establishing the Brad Tibbitts Faculty Scholarship as well as the Respiratory Care Scholarship.  She is one of those individuals that goes well beyond the call of duty to help our students.”

As Faculty Member of the Year, which is an honor bestowed by teaching peers by a nomination and selection process, Edwards received the Gayle and Wanda Grant Award of Teaching Excellence, which includes airfare for two to a destination of her choice in the Continental U.S. and a $1,000 honorarium from the WC Foundation.