Weatherford Democrat

November 5, 2013

Don't forget to vote!

Weatherford Democrat

Today is Election Day

Polls open 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

Tuesday, Nov. 5, is Election Day — the first statewide election where a photo ID will be required to vote in person.

On the local ballots are nine amendments to the Texas Constitution, placed in random order by Texas Secretary of State John Steen.

Most Parker County residents will vote solely on the amendments, but others will also vote on additions to Emergency Service District No. 3 and ESD No. 7, as well as on bond elections in the Azle and Granbury school districts.

Polls will be open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.


Photo ID

Texas now requires voters to show photo ID at the polls. IDs that can be accepted include: one of four Texas Department of Public Safety-issued photo IDs (driver’s license, personal ID card, concealed handgun license or election identification certificate) or one of three United States government issued photo IDs (passport, military ID card, U.S. citizenship or naturalization certificate).

The photo ID must be current or expired no more than 60 days. Other photo IDs, including student IDs and employment IDs, cannot be accepted at the polls.

ESD No. 3 annexation

In East Parker County residents within the boundaries of ESD No. 3 as well as residents living in a petitioned area in and around Annetta North will vote on whether to add the petitioned area to the ESD, a taxing entity. The proposed annexation area includes land inside the city limits of Annetta North — on the east and west ends — and land within the ETJs of both Annetta North and Weatherford.   

A second related proposition would commit the Annetta North territory to assuming a proportionate share of ESD No. 3’s outstanding debts and taxes should the first proposition succeed.


ESD No. 7

Residents in the Cool and Garner areas of the county and the Millsap and Greenwood areas will have a change to weigh in on the annexation of the Cool-Garner fire district by ESD No. 7, a taxing fire and emergency services district currently headquartered in Greenwood and including the Millsap area. 

If voters in both areas approve the annexation, property in the Cool and Garner areas can be taxed up to 10 cents per $100 valuation under state law and the ESD is expected to help fund the efforts of Cool-Garner VFD. 

A group associated with the volunteer department collected more than 150 signatures earlier this year to place the issue on the ballot as firefighters expressed a need to obtain reliable funding to meet the needs required to respond to a growing number of emergency calls.


Voters’ guide

The nonpartisan League of Women Voters — Texas Education Fund Voters Guide for the Constitutional Amendment Election —  is available online at and and distributed in print by local Leagues and through many libraries.

Information on the nine proposed constitutional amendments may also be found on the site. 


Polling sites


Pct. Location

100  Silver Creek Methodist Church

2200 Church Rd. Off 730, Azle

105  Silver Creek Elementary School

10300 South Fm 730, Azle

110  Crosstimbers Elementary School

831 Jackson Trail, Azle

111  Azle Masonic Lodge

257 W. Main, Azle

115  Reno City Hall

195 W. Reno Rd., Reno

120  First Baptist Springtown

500 N. Main, Springtown

125  Outreach Of Love Church

3591 E. Hwy 199, Springtown

130  Parker County Ne Annex

1020 E. Hwy.199, Springtown

135  Friendship Baptist Church

801 Friendship Rd., Weatherford

140  Agnes Baptist Church

350 Agnes North, Springtown

200  Harberger Hill Community Ctr Rm B

701 Narrow St., Weatherford

205  Trinity Lutheran Church

1500 Ball St., Weatherford

210  Poolville Methodist Church

230 North Church, Poolville

215  Peaster Fire Dept.

221 Judd St, Peaster 

220  Whitt Fire Dept.

4312 N Fm Rd 52, Whitt

225  Garner Isd

2222 Garner School Road, Garner

230  Calvary Baptist Church

1900 N. Main St, Weatherford

235  Shady Grove Baptist Church

2470 W. Lambert Rd., Weatherford

240  Union Baptist Church

3451 Sarra Ln., Springtown

245  Calvary Baptist Church

1900 N. Main St., Weatherford

250  Harberger Hill Community Ctr Rm C

701 Narrow St., Weatherford

255  Victory Baptist Church

1311 East Bankhead Dr., Weatherford

300  Phoenix Masonic Lodge

1009 Palo Pinto St, Weatherford

305  Grace First Presbyterian Church

606 Mockingbird Ln., Weatherford

310  Weatherford 9Th Grade Center(New Gym)

1007 South Main, Weatherford

315  Santa Fe Drive Baptist Church

1502 Santa Fe Drive, Weatherford 

320  Millsap Community Ctr

104 Fannin St, Millsap

325  Harmony Baptist Church

242 Harmony Road, Weatherford

330  Parker County ESD #6

4970 Tin Top Rd., Weatherford

335  Brock Baptist Church

2111 Fm 1189, Brock

340  First Baptist Church Of Dennis

7600 Fm 1189, Dennis

345  Spring Creek Baptist Church

100 Spring Creek Rd., Weatherford

350  Greenwood Community Center

1418 Greenwood Cut-Off Road 

400  Fire Station

6085 White Settlement Rd, Weatherford

405  Fire Station #2

122 W. Lake Dr., Weatherford   

410  Willow Park Police/Fire Dept.

101 Stagecoach Tr., Willow Park

415  Willow Park Municipal Bldg.

516 Ranch House Rd., Willow Park

420  Wheatland Baptist Church

15910 S. Hwy 377, Wheatland

425  Church Of God Campground

2240 Ft Worth Hwy., Weatherford

430  Aledo Community Center

104 Robinson Ct., Aledo

435  Willow Park Baptist Church

129 S. Ranch House Rd., Willow Park

440  New Faith Baptist

3303 West Fm 5, Annetta

445  Parker County Precinct Barn #4

1320 Airport Road, Aledo 

450  Lakeshore Drive Baptist Church

200 S. Lakeshore Dr., Hudson Oaks