Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

December 29, 2013

NOW HEAR THIS: Soaring with the eagles

By LARRY M. JONES

The eagle, of which there are dozens of species throughout the world, is probably the most majestic and revered of all our avian creatures. Although not always our friend, the eagle is predominantly viewed as a symbol of strength and power – the master of its world. As such, it has been used as a national symbol by many countries on their coats of arms or flags throughout recorded history.

The fledgling United States adopted the bald eagle as our national symbol, despite the objections of Benjamin Franklin. He referred to the eagle as being of bad moral character, lazy and cowardly that will flee from smaller birds. He preferred the turkey, a grand indigenous American bird, who “would not hesitate to attack a Grenadier of the British Guards who should presume to invade his farm yard with a red coat on.”

Obviously, others did not share Ben’s opinion.

Comparing eagles and turkeys, I am reminded of the old saying I have heard, particularly while flying in the Navy, “It’s hard to soar with the eagles, when you work with a bunch of turkeys.”  

In the aviation world over the past century, the term eagle has become synonymous with flying, aviators and aircraft. Many things are named after the great bird. Perhaps, the most famous reference to the eagle was originally used by Neil Armstrong when the first manmade craft (the “Eagle”) landed on the moon.  He announced, “Houston, the Eagle has landed.”

I was reminded of the great bald eagle last week as I watched the local news. A gentleman from Rowlett investigated his barking dogs in his back yard, and discovered an injured and malnourished male bald eagle on the ground, unable to fly. A lady from the Rogers Wildlife Rehabilitation Center, along with a game warden, came and captured the bird and has begun treatment. The beautiful mature male eagle had a badly infected eye, which made it next to impossible to hunt and capture prey. Its keen eyesight is paramount to its hunting ability. They plan to release the bird to the wild upon rehabilitation, probably in the vicinity of Lake Ray Roberts.

Text Only
Viewpoints
  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: The fox and the hound, plus Max

    Almost without exception, most farms are protected to some degree by guard animals. Dogs and cats are most commonly used to defend against intruders and nuisance pests around the farmstead. In recent years with the proliferation of coyotes, many folks are using guard donkeys or llamas to protect their livestock.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Laws can’t be ignored

    Senator Harry Reid said, “We just can’t let people ignore the law.”

    April 20, 2014

  • 0912 one bday wm j kelly 2013 mug.jpg KELLY: What do you think?

    Not much is known about this Joseph’s life. The one thing I know for sure is that he was a very brave man.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hamilton, Lee.jpg HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet!

    Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it’s down to $134 billion.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Showing respect

    My sister Robbie Benton’s funeral was Friday afternoon at White’s Funeral Home. The gravesite was outside of Mineral Wells. The respect shown by the good folks of Parker County and the surrounding area was overwhelming.

    April 17, 2014

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Going on a wild goose chase

    In recent years I’ve written quite a bit about the introduction and negative consequences of non-native or invasive species. Fire ants, killer bees, English sparrows, Asian carp, feral hogs and others too numerous to list have forever changed our local ecosystem.

    April 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: TV offers

    Have you seen those TV offers where they give a price for one product and then offer a second like items for-free? All you have to do is pay a separate shipping and handling charge for the “free” items.

    April 13, 2014

  • John Paul Carter-color.jpg NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: What’s in a name?

    Names are important. When my son, Rush, (who’s named after my father) and his wife, Vanessa, were expecting their third daughter, I gave up on having a male namesake and suggested, in jest, they call her “Johnnie Pauline.”

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: The Christian and the government

    The church in the Old Testament lived under a theocracy. That is, both the church and state were one. God anointed kings. Civil laws and religious laws were one and the same.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Getting in the chicken business

    Anyone who is my age or older has heard the famous quote, “A chicken in every pot.” It is normally attributed to Herbert Hoover during his 1928 presidential bid.

    April 6, 2014 1 Photo

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security