Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

December 27, 2013

NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: With Christmas feeling

By JOHN PAUL CARTER

One of my favorite Christmas poems seems relevant for such a time as this. It was written by Robert Frost and bears the unlikely title, “To A Young Wretch.”

The verses are addressed to his youthful neighbor who has taken his father’s ax and cut a Christmas tree from the poet’s hillside without permission. Defiantly, Frost declares, “It is your Christmases against my woods.”

Given the choice, the bard laments, “I could have bought you just as good a tree.” But remembering his own mischievous childhood, the poet knows that “a tree by charity is not the same as tree by enterprise and expedition.”

In Texas terms, it’s like the ordinary taste of a watermelon bought at the store in broad daylight as compared to the exciting flavor of one swiped from a neighbor’s patch in the dark of night.

Upon further reflection, Frost concludes that perhaps the boy’s interests and his own are best viewed “as opposing goods oftener than as conflicting good and ill.” He realizes that his goal to preserve his wooded hillside and the lad’s desire to cut his own Christmas tree both have their merits. The issues are really not so black and white.

Although his stolen tree is now held captive by “tinsel chains and popcorn ropes” in his neighbor’s window bay and has “lost the stars of heaven,” the poet prays:

“May, oh, may

“The symbol star it lifts against your ceiling

“Help me accept its fate with Christmas feeling.”

Sometimes in the heat of battle, like Frost, we misinterpret our conflicts as being between good and evil rather than a difference of opinion about which of two goods is the best. If I turn my opponent into a devil and represent myself as a saint, what chance do we have of finding peace on earth and good will between us – let alone better solutions to our common problems?

Text Only
Viewpoints
  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: The fox and the hound, plus Max

    Almost without exception, most farms are protected to some degree by guard animals. Dogs and cats are most commonly used to defend against intruders and nuisance pests around the farmstead. In recent years with the proliferation of coyotes, many folks are using guard donkeys or llamas to protect their livestock.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Laws can’t be ignored

    Senator Harry Reid said, “We just can’t let people ignore the law.”

    April 20, 2014

  • 0912 one bday wm j kelly 2013 mug.jpg KELLY: What do you think?

    Not much is known about this Joseph’s life. The one thing I know for sure is that he was a very brave man.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hamilton, Lee.jpg HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet!

    Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it’s down to $134 billion.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Showing respect

    My sister Robbie Benton’s funeral was Friday afternoon at White’s Funeral Home. The gravesite was outside of Mineral Wells. The respect shown by the good folks of Parker County and the surrounding area was overwhelming.

    April 17, 2014

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Going on a wild goose chase

    In recent years I’ve written quite a bit about the introduction and negative consequences of non-native or invasive species. Fire ants, killer bees, English sparrows, Asian carp, feral hogs and others too numerous to list have forever changed our local ecosystem.

    April 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: TV offers

    Have you seen those TV offers where they give a price for one product and then offer a second like items for-free? All you have to do is pay a separate shipping and handling charge for the “free” items.

    April 13, 2014

  • John Paul Carter-color.jpg NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: What’s in a name?

    Names are important. When my son, Rush, (who’s named after my father) and his wife, Vanessa, were expecting their third daughter, I gave up on having a male namesake and suggested, in jest, they call her “Johnnie Pauline.”

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: The Christian and the government

    The church in the Old Testament lived under a theocracy. That is, both the church and state were one. God anointed kings. Civil laws and religious laws were one and the same.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Getting in the chicken business

    Anyone who is my age or older has heard the famous quote, “A chicken in every pot.” It is normally attributed to Herbert Hoover during his 1928 presidential bid.

    April 6, 2014 1 Photo

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers