Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

December 27, 2013

NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: With Christmas feeling

By JOHN PAUL CARTER

One of my favorite Christmas poems seems relevant for such a time as this. It was written by Robert Frost and bears the unlikely title, “To A Young Wretch.”

The verses are addressed to his youthful neighbor who has taken his father’s ax and cut a Christmas tree from the poet’s hillside without permission. Defiantly, Frost declares, “It is your Christmases against my woods.”

Given the choice, the bard laments, “I could have bought you just as good a tree.” But remembering his own mischievous childhood, the poet knows that “a tree by charity is not the same as tree by enterprise and expedition.”

In Texas terms, it’s like the ordinary taste of a watermelon bought at the store in broad daylight as compared to the exciting flavor of one swiped from a neighbor’s patch in the dark of night.

Upon further reflection, Frost concludes that perhaps the boy’s interests and his own are best viewed “as opposing goods oftener than as conflicting good and ill.” He realizes that his goal to preserve his wooded hillside and the lad’s desire to cut his own Christmas tree both have their merits. The issues are really not so black and white.

Although his stolen tree is now held captive by “tinsel chains and popcorn ropes” in his neighbor’s window bay and has “lost the stars of heaven,” the poet prays:

“May, oh, may

“The symbol star it lifts against your ceiling

“Help me accept its fate with Christmas feeling.”

Sometimes in the heat of battle, like Frost, we misinterpret our conflicts as being between good and evil rather than a difference of opinion about which of two goods is the best. If I turn my opponent into a devil and represent myself as a saint, what chance do we have of finding peace on earth and good will between us – let alone better solutions to our common problems?

Text Only
Viewpoints
  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Showing respect

    My sister Robbie Benton’s funeral was Friday afternoon at White’s Funeral Home. The gravesite was outside of Mineral Wells. The respect shown by the good folks of Parker County and the surrounding area was overwhelming.

    April 17, 2014

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Going on a wild goose chase

    In recent years I’ve written quite a bit about the introduction and negative consequences of non-native or invasive species. Fire ants, killer bees, English sparrows, Asian carp, feral hogs and others too numerous to list have forever changed our local ecosystem.

    April 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: TV offers

    Have you seen those TV offers where they give a price for one product and then offer a second like items for-free? All you have to do is pay a separate shipping and handling charge for the “free” items.

    April 13, 2014

  • John Paul Carter-color.jpg NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: What’s in a name?

    Names are important. When my son, Rush, (who’s named after my father) and his wife, Vanessa, were expecting their third daughter, I gave up on having a male namesake and suggested, in jest, they call her “Johnnie Pauline.”

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: The Christian and the government

    The church in the Old Testament lived under a theocracy. That is, both the church and state were one. God anointed kings. Civil laws and religious laws were one and the same.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Getting in the chicken business

    Anyone who is my age or older has heard the famous quote, “A chicken in every pot.” It is normally attributed to Herbert Hoover during his 1928 presidential bid.

    April 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • VIEWPOINT: Obsessed with sports

    I remember reading a synopsis of the five reasons for the “Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire” by Edward Gibbon in which he listed the Romans’ obsession with sports at the coliseum as a cause of the fall of the empire.

    April 6, 2014

  • 0912 one bday wm j kelly 2013 mug.jpg KELLY: What do you think?

    On March 21, this paper published an article about a six-month drug trafficking investigation involving 12 people. On the front page was a photo of the 12 people involved. The use of drugs had made them a sorry-looking bunch. The look in their eyes was particularly disturbing.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hamilton, Lee.jpg Time to fix government

    In 1965, the chairman of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, Wilbur Mills, brought legislation establishing Medicare and Medicaid to the floor of the U.S. House. That was my first year in Congress, and I remember vividly the moment when Mills came to the Democratic caucus to explain his plans.

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Review of ‘Noah’

    TV host Glenn Beck and other stalwarts of the Christian right have attacked the recent blockbuster “Noah” as being “pro-animal” and unfaithful to the Bible.

    April 3, 2014

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge