Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

November 21, 2013

KELLY: Why you should read your local paper

By WILLIAM J. KELLY

Why should I subscribe to a local daily newspaper and pay that daily, weekly, monthly or yearly fee when I can pull up the e-copy on the Internet?

Why should I read about all the social events taking place in our community, the many sporting events which involve our children of all ages, the church related events, and most of all the political decisions being made which involve our tax money and our freedoms?

Why should I read about the many terroristic acts taking place in our country and all over the world in countries we never heard of before?

Why should I read the newspaper when I can turn on the radio or TV news programs and get the evening news from a well known newscaster?  

Do you, who fit into the above “whys,” think you are good citizens of this great country when you do not know what is being made law by our local state and federal lawmakers?

I have asked many people who do not subscribe to any newspaper or publication dealing in current events which affect their daily lives what they do read. The majority replied that they either read nothing or go to the Internet e-copy.

It was just a one-question poll. Not very scientific, I know, but what does the answer tell us? It tells us that we are dealing with a very uninformed citizenry.

The advantages of reading a newspaper:

First: The paper provides both local and world news, plus the opinions of columnists, opinions of people who write letters to the editor and the opinions of the editor.

The nice thing about this is that you can add your personal opinion to the mix and decide for yourself what opinions you agree or disagree with, keep your original opinion or change it because of additional information from the newspaper about the subject.

Text Only
Viewpoints
  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Good company, better service

    We would like to thank Devin’s Handyman Service, Gary Boase, David Schramm and James Reed for the wonderful job they did repainting our front fence, front porch, back porch, patio and deck. Everything looks new and makes such a difference in our home.

    July 23, 2014

  • PASTOR POPHIN: The joy of unity in church

    Do you enjoy going to church? I mean, do you really enjoy going to church? No matter how you answer, there are some common reasons — or perhaps we would call them conditions — that would cause all of us to truly enjoy going to church. 

    July 20, 2014

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Don't judge a book...

    Dear Editor: Thursday night, July 17, I was present for a surprisingly interesting experience when state representative candidate Matthew Britt addressed a small group of supporters, followed by a question and answer session.

    July 20, 2014

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: The blessing of memories

    Many years ago, shortly after I retired from the navy, I was sitting around shooting the breeze with my brother David, when he remarked that he regretted never serving in the military and experiencing the things I had seen. Like most of our farmer ancestors, he spent his entire life within five miles of where he grew up. Not unlike our parents, he could also count on the fingers of one hand the number of times he had even been out of the state of Texas and probably have digits to spare.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • 0912 one bday wm j kelly 2013 mug.jpg KELLY: What do you think?

    Immigration: Wow! Where are all these illegal boys and girls coming from, and why? The “why” is a big question! I’m sure 5-year-olds are not coming for a better life and income. 

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: Signs and seals

    God gave the church signs and seals. These are called sacraments or holy ordinances. They are both holy and commanded. There are two sacraments instituted by Jesus Christ. They are Baptism and the Lord’s Supper. These sacraments are often referred to as “secondary doctrine.” They are secondary not because they are unimportant. They are secondary because they are not necessary for salvation. 

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Response to 'Blame game'

    Dear Editor: It’s not drug cartels telling Central Americans their children won’t be turned away at the border, it is the actions of this administration with its refusal to secure the border and its unilateral rewriting of immigration law. As has been shown, this president and his administration have for some time lied about the security of the border and immigration enforcement.

    July 17, 2014

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Sick and tired

    Do you remember hearing Hillary Clinton screaming, “I am sick and tired of people who say if you debate or disagree with this administration somehow you are not patriotic. We should stand up and say, we are Americans and we have a right to disagree with any administration.” Nancy Pelosi said that the swamp needed to be drained and I agree, but I see she and Senator Reid are still splashing around in the slime.

    July 15, 2014

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Paradise Lost

    During this past Fourth of July weekend, I did what I frequently do. I sat in my workshop enjoying a cool breeze, doing absolutely nothing except for trying to stay awake. As I looked to the south toward my shiny aluminum flagpole with Old Glory fluttering in that breeze, I did not feel the great patriotic sense of pride I normally have on this anniversary of the birth of our nation. Instead, I came very close to going out to the pole and lowering our national standard to half-mast to mourn the passing of our once great nation.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Our officials care

    I take serious exception to Mr. Jay Cloward’s letter, “Big city, no care” (7/8/14) in which he states that it almost looks like the city wants to become a for-profit company and Weatherford has “become a city too big to care.”

    July 13, 2014

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel