Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

May 8, 2013

Letters to the Editor – May 7, 2013

(Continued)

Please take the time to Vote YES for the WISD Bond on May 11th. YOUR vote matters.

Donna Schoonover, Weatherford

Support for Mike Brasovan

Dear Editor,

There have been many opinion letters about the upcoming Annetta city council election, and we would like to respond to some recent ones, including the one from B.J. Smyers, the campaign treasurer of Mike Brasovan’s opponent in the Place 5 race.

Mike Brasovan is being labeled a “politician,” sometimes a “career politician,” apparently because this is not his first run for office.  We’re not sure when having a desire to serve through public office became a bad thing. This is only Mike Brasovan’s second run for city council – hardly his career. We have local mayors and school board members serving multiple terms in office, campaigning in multiple elections, yet haven’t seen the same complaint leveled against them. In the same article from the Community News referenced by B.J. Smyers in the opinion letter attacking Mike Brasovan, what does another candidate in the “Four for Annetta” group list as the first reason he’s the best candidate for his office? His eight years of service on the city council.  We wish more men and women were as passionate about public service, but can see why they aren’t.  Maybe if we can get past the attacks and gossip, and start respectful debate about the issues, they will be.

Mike has stated since before he filed to run for city council that he is generally supportive of the annexation petitioners’ desire to be annexed into Annetta, but believes it’s a big decision for the city and, if it turns out to be the best thing, needs to be done slowly, carefully, and correctly. He has worked to gather the most accurate information available about the impact, as well as gather citizen input.  This is a level approach. The amount in franchise fees – the exact number – the city would have received had those homes already been part of the city a year ago is one number Mike is waiting for (the Annetta mayor has requested this information, hopefully because he also believes it would be good to have the most accurate information possible).  Road costs are another number; Mike has been gathering information about what other cities in the area spend on residential roads instead of using Annetta’s current road budget, which is not adequately maintaining the roads.

Text Only
Viewpoints
  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Good company, better service

    We would like to thank Devin’s Handyman Service, Gary Boase, David Schramm and James Reed for the wonderful job they did repainting our front fence, front porch, back porch, patio and deck. Everything looks new and makes such a difference in our home.

    July 23, 2014

  • PASTOR POPHIN: The joy of unity in church

    Do you enjoy going to church? I mean, do you really enjoy going to church? No matter how you answer, there are some common reasons — or perhaps we would call them conditions — that would cause all of us to truly enjoy going to church. 

    July 20, 2014

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Don't judge a book...

    Dear Editor: Thursday night, July 17, I was present for a surprisingly interesting experience when state representative candidate Matthew Britt addressed a small group of supporters, followed by a question and answer session.

    July 20, 2014

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: The blessing of memories

    Many years ago, shortly after I retired from the navy, I was sitting around shooting the breeze with my brother David, when he remarked that he regretted never serving in the military and experiencing the things I had seen. Like most of our farmer ancestors, he spent his entire life within five miles of where he grew up. Not unlike our parents, he could also count on the fingers of one hand the number of times he had even been out of the state of Texas and probably have digits to spare.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • 0912 one bday wm j kelly 2013 mug.jpg KELLY: What do you think?

    Immigration: Wow! Where are all these illegal boys and girls coming from, and why? The “why” is a big question! I’m sure 5-year-olds are not coming for a better life and income. 

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: Signs and seals

    God gave the church signs and seals. These are called sacraments or holy ordinances. They are both holy and commanded. There are two sacraments instituted by Jesus Christ. They are Baptism and the Lord’s Supper. These sacraments are often referred to as “secondary doctrine.” They are secondary not because they are unimportant. They are secondary because they are not necessary for salvation. 

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Response to 'Blame game'

    Dear Editor: It’s not drug cartels telling Central Americans their children won’t be turned away at the border, it is the actions of this administration with its refusal to secure the border and its unilateral rewriting of immigration law. As has been shown, this president and his administration have for some time lied about the security of the border and immigration enforcement.

    July 17, 2014

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Sick and tired

    Do you remember hearing Hillary Clinton screaming, “I am sick and tired of people who say if you debate or disagree with this administration somehow you are not patriotic. We should stand up and say, we are Americans and we have a right to disagree with any administration.” Nancy Pelosi said that the swamp needed to be drained and I agree, but I see she and Senator Reid are still splashing around in the slime.

    July 15, 2014

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Paradise Lost

    During this past Fourth of July weekend, I did what I frequently do. I sat in my workshop enjoying a cool breeze, doing absolutely nothing except for trying to stay awake. As I looked to the south toward my shiny aluminum flagpole with Old Glory fluttering in that breeze, I did not feel the great patriotic sense of pride I normally have on this anniversary of the birth of our nation. Instead, I came very close to going out to the pole and lowering our national standard to half-mast to mourn the passing of our once great nation.

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Our officials care

    I take serious exception to Mr. Jay Cloward’s letter, “Big city, no care” (7/8/14) in which he states that it almost looks like the city wants to become a for-profit company and Weatherford has “become a city too big to care.”

    July 13, 2014

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Bodies of Malaysia Jet Victims Leave Ukraine Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights