Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

May 8, 2013

Letters to the Editor – May 7, 2013

(Continued)

Please take the time to Vote YES for the WISD Bond on May 11th. YOUR vote matters.

Donna Schoonover, Weatherford

Support for Mike Brasovan

Dear Editor,

There have been many opinion letters about the upcoming Annetta city council election, and we would like to respond to some recent ones, including the one from B.J. Smyers, the campaign treasurer of Mike Brasovan’s opponent in the Place 5 race.

Mike Brasovan is being labeled a “politician,” sometimes a “career politician,” apparently because this is not his first run for office.  We’re not sure when having a desire to serve through public office became a bad thing. This is only Mike Brasovan’s second run for city council – hardly his career. We have local mayors and school board members serving multiple terms in office, campaigning in multiple elections, yet haven’t seen the same complaint leveled against them. In the same article from the Community News referenced by B.J. Smyers in the opinion letter attacking Mike Brasovan, what does another candidate in the “Four for Annetta” group list as the first reason he’s the best candidate for his office? His eight years of service on the city council.  We wish more men and women were as passionate about public service, but can see why they aren’t.  Maybe if we can get past the attacks and gossip, and start respectful debate about the issues, they will be.

Mike has stated since before he filed to run for city council that he is generally supportive of the annexation petitioners’ desire to be annexed into Annetta, but believes it’s a big decision for the city and, if it turns out to be the best thing, needs to be done slowly, carefully, and correctly. He has worked to gather the most accurate information available about the impact, as well as gather citizen input.  This is a level approach. The amount in franchise fees – the exact number – the city would have received had those homes already been part of the city a year ago is one number Mike is waiting for (the Annetta mayor has requested this information, hopefully because he also believes it would be good to have the most accurate information possible).  Road costs are another number; Mike has been gathering information about what other cities in the area spend on residential roads instead of using Annetta’s current road budget, which is not adequately maintaining the roads.

Text Only
Viewpoints
  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: Do the right thing!

    We seem to be constantly bombarded with complicated situations that call for making an informed decision. Of course, generally, all would want to do the right thing.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • 0912 one bday wm j kelly 2013 mug.jpg KELLY: What do you think?

    American Profile Magazine pictured Big Tex in its feature about state fairs with the appropriate caption: “Big Tex towers over visitors to the Texas State Fair.” The article also wrote about the many famous wooden roller coasters including the “Classic” wood roller coaster.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: I have been corrected

    I was complaining about President Obama making promises that he has not kept, such as taxes will not go up one dime or health care will go down about $2,500 per year for a family of four. He said he would cut the deficit in half by the end of his first term. He said he would have an immigration plan in place. What he really meant was that if Congress would allow it, we would have open borders.

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Concern for your pocketbooks

    Dear Editor: My message today is to Democrats out in Parker County and the middle class and moderate-income Republicans in towns and rural areas. 

    July 27, 2014

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Taking care of your tools

    For much of my life I’ve heard the saying, “Take care of your tools, and your tools will take care of you.”  In our modern “throw away world” this has become much less important than it used to be, but down on the “pore farm,” tools still enjoy a prominent position in my daily life.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • PASTOR POPHIN: The greatest joy of all: Jesus

    The first part of this week was a joyous one for me. I took 10 youth to Lake Mineral Wells State Park for three days of day camping. Camp Adventure was the name of the camp. We discovered the joy of the One who created us: Jesus. I am sitting at my desk on the day after the camp writing this article. I am overjoyed by the events of the week, and yet I am physically exhausted. The Lord moved powerfully among our youth.

    July 26, 2014

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Now is the time for all good men...

    When man’s greed, desire for riches, power and control of our nation become greater than their love of humanity and our country, by constantly fomenting discord and hate among the citizens, warmongering and constantly talking of wars against other nations - it is putting political ideology before the welfare of citizens and country. It is time for We the People to take a good look at these men involved - no matter their status in our nation, we call the United States of America and decide whether or not they deserve the privilege and sanctuary of our nation.

    July 25, 2014

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: Finding a church

    God commands His people to “keep holy the Sabbath Day.” The “Sabbath Day” was changed by the apostolic church to the first day, Sunday. The church refers to every Sunday as the Lord’s Day. Each Lord’s Day is a celebration of the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Therefore, a professing Christian will seek to find a local church in which to invest in the kingdom and worship the King! 

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • John Paul Carter-color.jpg NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: What’s your current address?

    Shortly after we moved to Weatherford 19 years ago, the old post office (today’s Court Building) that was literally bursting at the seams was replaced by a new, larger facility – our present mail center that sometimes seems outgrown as we stand in line to buy stamps or mail a package.  

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Good company, better service

    We would like to thank Devin’s Handyman Service, Gary Boase, David Schramm and James Reed for the wonderful job they did repainting our front fence, front porch, back porch, patio and deck. Everything looks new and makes such a difference in our home.

    July 23, 2014

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction