Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

October 11, 2013

NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: Lovers’ quarrels

By JOHN PAUL CARTER

Toward the end of his life, Robert Frost, in a long poem entitled “The Lesson for Today,” summed up his life in these words:

And were an epitaph to be my story,

I’d have a short one ready for my own.

I would have written of me on my stone:

I had a lover’s quarrel with the world.

His friend, Louis Untermeyer, later wrote that no one would ever write “a more accurate summary of the poet’s spirit; a contemplation of the world which is free to question, even to criticize, but always with understanding, always with earnest love.”

Disagreements and differences of opinion are a natural part of life. They grow out of our varied backgrounds and individuality. But if fueled by fear and anger, our disputes can turn lethal. On the other hand, with care and determination, even strongly-held differences of opinions can be voiced and accepted in the context of love and mutual respect. A “lover’s quarrel” – difficult as it may be – is a special kind of argument that adds integrity and strength to our relationships.

In marriage, for example, conflict is as much a part of the relationship as its bliss. When we select a partner, we’re usually keenly aware of our similarities. But, subconsciously, we’re also choosing that person on the basis of our differences. Since we don’t live in Stepford, the success of the marriage often depends on how well we manage those differences. The abilities to fight fairly, to respect each other’s differences, and to use diversity to our mutual advantage are essential skills in a healthy marriage. A lover’s quarrel seeks win/win solutions, rather than win/lose.

Quarrels also occur within the church – the body of Christ. We confess with one voice that “Jesus is Lord.” But because freedom is a necessary part of love, we are incredibly varied in the individual interpretation and practice of our faith. My own Disciple heritage has always valued this rich diversity.

Text Only
Viewpoints
  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Going on a wild goose chase

    In recent years I’ve written quite a bit about the introduction and negative consequences of non-native or invasive species. Fire ants, killer bees, English sparrows, Asian carp, feral hogs and others too numerous to list have forever changed our local ecosystem.

    April 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: TV offers

    Have you seen those TV offers where they give a price for one product and then offer a second like items for-free? All you have to do is pay a separate shipping and handling charge for the “free” items.

    April 13, 2014

  • John Paul Carter-color.jpg NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: What’s in a name?

    Names are important. When my son, Rush, (who’s named after my father) and his wife, Vanessa, were expecting their third daughter, I gave up on having a male namesake and suggested, in jest, they call her “Johnnie Pauline.”

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: The Christian and the government

    The church in the Old Testament lived under a theocracy. That is, both the church and state were one. God anointed kings. Civil laws and religious laws were one and the same.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Getting in the chicken business

    Anyone who is my age or older has heard the famous quote, “A chicken in every pot.” It is normally attributed to Herbert Hoover during his 1928 presidential bid.

    April 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • VIEWPOINT: Obsessed with sports

    I remember reading a synopsis of the five reasons for the “Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire” by Edward Gibbon in which he listed the Romans’ obsession with sports at the coliseum as a cause of the fall of the empire.

    April 6, 2014

  • 0912 one bday wm j kelly 2013 mug.jpg KELLY: What do you think?

    On March 21, this paper published an article about a six-month drug trafficking investigation involving 12 people. On the front page was a photo of the 12 people involved. The use of drugs had made them a sorry-looking bunch. The look in their eyes was particularly disturbing.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hamilton, Lee.jpg Time to fix government

    In 1965, the chairman of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, Wilbur Mills, brought legislation establishing Medicare and Medicaid to the floor of the U.S. House. That was my first year in Congress, and I remember vividly the moment when Mills came to the Democratic caucus to explain his plans.

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Review of ‘Noah’

    TV host Glenn Beck and other stalwarts of the Christian right have attacked the recent blockbuster “Noah” as being “pro-animal” and unfaithful to the Bible.

    April 3, 2014

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: While going, disciple!

    The purpose that God has given to His people is to be holy. He has likewise given His people a mission. The mission of God’s people, the church of Jesus Christ, is as clear as His revealed purpose.

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge