Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

October 11, 2013

NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: Lovers’ quarrels

By JOHN PAUL CARTER

Toward the end of his life, Robert Frost, in a long poem entitled “The Lesson for Today,” summed up his life in these words:

And were an epitaph to be my story,

I’d have a short one ready for my own.

I would have written of me on my stone:

I had a lover’s quarrel with the world.

His friend, Louis Untermeyer, later wrote that no one would ever write “a more accurate summary of the poet’s spirit; a contemplation of the world which is free to question, even to criticize, but always with understanding, always with earnest love.”

Disagreements and differences of opinion are a natural part of life. They grow out of our varied backgrounds and individuality. But if fueled by fear and anger, our disputes can turn lethal. On the other hand, with care and determination, even strongly-held differences of opinions can be voiced and accepted in the context of love and mutual respect. A “lover’s quarrel” – difficult as it may be – is a special kind of argument that adds integrity and strength to our relationships.

In marriage, for example, conflict is as much a part of the relationship as its bliss. When we select a partner, we’re usually keenly aware of our similarities. But, subconsciously, we’re also choosing that person on the basis of our differences. Since we don’t live in Stepford, the success of the marriage often depends on how well we manage those differences. The abilities to fight fairly, to respect each other’s differences, and to use diversity to our mutual advantage are essential skills in a healthy marriage. A lover’s quarrel seeks win/win solutions, rather than win/lose.

Quarrels also occur within the church – the body of Christ. We confess with one voice that “Jesus is Lord.” But because freedom is a necessary part of love, we are incredibly varied in the individual interpretation and practice of our faith. My own Disciple heritage has always valued this rich diversity.

Text Only
Viewpoints
  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: The fox and the hound, plus Max

    Almost without exception, most farms are protected to some degree by guard animals. Dogs and cats are most commonly used to defend against intruders and nuisance pests around the farmstead. In recent years with the proliferation of coyotes, many folks are using guard donkeys or llamas to protect their livestock.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Laws can’t be ignored

    Senator Harry Reid said, “We just can’t let people ignore the law.”

    April 20, 2014

  • 0912 one bday wm j kelly 2013 mug.jpg KELLY: What do you think?

    Not much is known about this Joseph’s life. The one thing I know for sure is that he was a very brave man.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hamilton, Lee.jpg HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet!

    Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it’s down to $134 billion.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Showing respect

    My sister Robbie Benton’s funeral was Friday afternoon at White’s Funeral Home. The gravesite was outside of Mineral Wells. The respect shown by the good folks of Parker County and the surrounding area was overwhelming.

    April 17, 2014

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Going on a wild goose chase

    In recent years I’ve written quite a bit about the introduction and negative consequences of non-native or invasive species. Fire ants, killer bees, English sparrows, Asian carp, feral hogs and others too numerous to list have forever changed our local ecosystem.

    April 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: TV offers

    Have you seen those TV offers where they give a price for one product and then offer a second like items for-free? All you have to do is pay a separate shipping and handling charge for the “free” items.

    April 13, 2014

  • John Paul Carter-color.jpg NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: What’s in a name?

    Names are important. When my son, Rush, (who’s named after my father) and his wife, Vanessa, were expecting their third daughter, I gave up on having a male namesake and suggested, in jest, they call her “Johnnie Pauline.”

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: The Christian and the government

    The church in the Old Testament lived under a theocracy. That is, both the church and state were one. God anointed kings. Civil laws and religious laws were one and the same.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Getting in the chicken business

    Anyone who is my age or older has heard the famous quote, “A chicken in every pot.” It is normally attributed to Herbert Hoover during his 1928 presidential bid.

    April 6, 2014 1 Photo

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers