Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

November 3, 2013

GUEST OPINION: Lack of adult education confuses children

By STACY URBAN

Are we putting our children in danger? As a mother, it is my duty to love and raise my children to be strong, independent and productive members of society. But in doing so, it is necessary to educate them in the dangers that the world can present – be good little boys and girls, but be wary.

“Don’t talk to strangers” and “don’t go anywhere with anyone without permission from me” are two of many things that we say to our children and hope that if the unfortunate occasion should come up, they will know what to do. However, teaching them what to do does not help if we are circumvented by other adults and authority figures in their lives.

It happened to me and it is scary to see a stranger put my child in their car; the helpless feeling of watching my child being led away and out of my sight. The heart-stopping moment I saw a stranger’s hands on my child, the blood rushing as I began to run and try to scream, with nothing coming out, and the gut-wrenching awareness that might be the last time that I ever see him again. It is something that no parent should ever have to go through.

It was a hard lesson and it made me deeply consider everything that is said to my children about this subject, whether it is by me, a trusted adult or otherwise.

According to the Klaas Kids website, the United States Department of Justice, office of Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention, offers these shocking percentages: Based on the identity of the perpetrator, there are three distinct types of kidnapping: “family kidnapping” (49 percent); “acquaintance kidnapping” (27 percent); and “stranger kidnapping” (24 percent).

My son’s situation fell into that 27 percent that is the acquaintance kidnapping. I had to come to terms with the realization I almost lost my son to a kidnapping. As I watched from my car, he walked home from school and felt that little bit of independence until she pulled him across the road and put him in her car. Luckily for me, the woman who “helped” my son was the mother of one of his second-grade classmates, but I didn’t know her, or her intentions.

Text Only
Viewpoints
  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: The fox and the hound, plus Max

    Almost without exception, most farms are protected to some degree by guard animals. Dogs and cats are most commonly used to defend against intruders and nuisance pests around the farmstead. In recent years with the proliferation of coyotes, many folks are using guard donkeys or llamas to protect their livestock.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Laws can’t be ignored

    Senator Harry Reid said, “We just can’t let people ignore the law.”

    April 20, 2014

  • 0912 one bday wm j kelly 2013 mug.jpg KELLY: What do you think?

    Not much is known about this Joseph’s life. The one thing I know for sure is that he was a very brave man.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hamilton, Lee.jpg HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet!

    Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it’s down to $134 billion.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Showing respect

    My sister Robbie Benton’s funeral was Friday afternoon at White’s Funeral Home. The gravesite was outside of Mineral Wells. The respect shown by the good folks of Parker County and the surrounding area was overwhelming.

    April 17, 2014

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Going on a wild goose chase

    In recent years I’ve written quite a bit about the introduction and negative consequences of non-native or invasive species. Fire ants, killer bees, English sparrows, Asian carp, feral hogs and others too numerous to list have forever changed our local ecosystem.

    April 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: TV offers

    Have you seen those TV offers where they give a price for one product and then offer a second like items for-free? All you have to do is pay a separate shipping and handling charge for the “free” items.

    April 13, 2014

  • John Paul Carter-color.jpg NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: What’s in a name?

    Names are important. When my son, Rush, (who’s named after my father) and his wife, Vanessa, were expecting their third daughter, I gave up on having a male namesake and suggested, in jest, they call her “Johnnie Pauline.”

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: The Christian and the government

    The church in the Old Testament lived under a theocracy. That is, both the church and state were one. God anointed kings. Civil laws and religious laws were one and the same.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Getting in the chicken business

    Anyone who is my age or older has heard the famous quote, “A chicken in every pot.” It is normally attributed to Herbert Hoover during his 1928 presidential bid.

    April 6, 2014 1 Photo

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security