Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

May 3, 2013

Letters to the Editor – May 3, 2013

Writer’s reasons for backing WISD bond

Dear Editor,

The 2013 WISD school bond has taken up a lot space in your editorials lately, as it should. I am writing in strong support of this bond. I have read what each side is saying and made a few remarks myself. I have to say that I am disappointed in the opposition’s idea of posting things that are not entirely true and when pointed out on their own “informative” website they refuse to post it because it does not line up with their twisted idea of what the truth is. I just wanted to point just a few facts that can be proven with very little effort.

FACT No. 1: I know this has been out there already but it needs to be stressed. No salaries can be paid by a bond. This is illegal and cannot and will not be done. We all know that teachers do not get paid near enough money, however, instead of bashing the school board maybe they should write their state representative. Also this bond will not “line the pockets” of the administrators as the vote no people have stated and allowed others to state on their website. If just a little research was done they would find out that every bit of this money would be accounted for.

FACT No. 2: Construction costs are being portrayed as being outrageously high. The cost of the Career and Technology building is estimated to be $17,503,047 at 66,425 square feet. This comes out to be right at $263 per foot. The opposition wants you to believe that this is the just the construction costs. I tried to point out to them on their own “informative” website that this was not true that the cost per foot they were using was not just the construction costs but was also for all equipment and supplies for that building. This building will house culinary classes, auto maintenance  classes, construction design and management classes, just to name a few. This price includes the equipment needed to teach these classes (i.e., lifts, diagnostic computers, ovens, refrigerators, auto-CAD programs, computers) and is quite expensive. So in my opinion this price is actually a very good price and is not high at all.  The same can be said about the price of the ninth grade wing.

Text Only
Viewpoints
  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: The fox and the hound, plus Max

    Almost without exception, most farms are protected to some degree by guard animals. Dogs and cats are most commonly used to defend against intruders and nuisance pests around the farmstead. In recent years with the proliferation of coyotes, many folks are using guard donkeys or llamas to protect their livestock.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Laws can’t be ignored

    Senator Harry Reid said, “We just can’t let people ignore the law.”

    April 20, 2014

  • 0912 one bday wm j kelly 2013 mug.jpg KELLY: What do you think?

    Not much is known about this Joseph’s life. The one thing I know for sure is that he was a very brave man.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hamilton, Lee.jpg HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet!

    Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it’s down to $134 billion.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Showing respect

    My sister Robbie Benton’s funeral was Friday afternoon at White’s Funeral Home. The gravesite was outside of Mineral Wells. The respect shown by the good folks of Parker County and the surrounding area was overwhelming.

    April 17, 2014

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Going on a wild goose chase

    In recent years I’ve written quite a bit about the introduction and negative consequences of non-native or invasive species. Fire ants, killer bees, English sparrows, Asian carp, feral hogs and others too numerous to list have forever changed our local ecosystem.

    April 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: TV offers

    Have you seen those TV offers where they give a price for one product and then offer a second like items for-free? All you have to do is pay a separate shipping and handling charge for the “free” items.

    April 13, 2014

  • John Paul Carter-color.jpg NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: What’s in a name?

    Names are important. When my son, Rush, (who’s named after my father) and his wife, Vanessa, were expecting their third daughter, I gave up on having a male namesake and suggested, in jest, they call her “Johnnie Pauline.”

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: The Christian and the government

    The church in the Old Testament lived under a theocracy. That is, both the church and state were one. God anointed kings. Civil laws and religious laws were one and the same.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Getting in the chicken business

    Anyone who is my age or older has heard the famous quote, “A chicken in every pot.” It is normally attributed to Herbert Hoover during his 1928 presidential bid.

    April 6, 2014 1 Photo

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security