Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

May 9, 2013

Letters to the Editor – May 8, 2013

Editor’s note: The first letter below was published in Tuesday’s edition, but inadvertently we listed the wrong author. We apologize to the author and our readers for the error and offer the corrected version today.

Vote no to bond

Dear Editor,

As a lifelong resident of Weatherford, I attended our public schools as did my wife, son, daughter and granddaughters. I have been in business here for many years and paid my school taxes without complaint. However, I do plan to vote no on the upcoming WISD bond election for the following reasons:

• Our school district needs a longer-range plan and needs to pay off more of the existing indebtedness before adding such a large amount.

• $107,320,000 is a lot of money, especially when we do not know how much will be spent on each individual item. It is just a blanket to be spent as desired. The bond proposal should be broken down into different projects to be decided by the voters.

• The total cost including interest for this bond is approximately $435 million. I do not want to burden my children with this debt.

• The sizes of the two buildings are enormous. The 78,000-square-foot building would be approximately 300 feet by 260 feet, if it is a one-story unit, or the length of a football field, and the other building at 66,425 square feet would be slightly smaller. Add the cost of future maintenance and repairs together with heating and cooling and the added expense begins to pile up. These added expenses of maintenance and operations are not included in the bond proposal.

There should be funds on hand from the sale of the ag farm that could be used for a lot of the items included in this “package.”

Seniors my age 65 years and older seem to think that they will not be affected by this bond. This sentiment could not be further from the truth.

Gene Jordan, Weatherford

Stand up to the NRA

Dear Editor,

Please stop the senseless slaughter of our citizens! Stand up to the gun manufacturers’ lobby, the NRA!

We don’t need assault weapons for hunting or target. There is no sport in obliterating an animal or target with multiple rounds!

We need common sense in our leadership. Not fear of the NRA.

Sincerely,

Billy Stephenson, Weatherford

1
Text Only
Viewpoints
  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Going on a wild goose chase

    In recent years I’ve written quite a bit about the introduction and negative consequences of non-native or invasive species. Fire ants, killer bees, English sparrows, Asian carp, feral hogs and others too numerous to list have forever changed our local ecosystem.

    April 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: TV offers

    Have you seen those TV offers where they give a price for one product and then offer a second like items for-free? All you have to do is pay a separate shipping and handling charge for the “free” items.

    April 13, 2014

  • John Paul Carter-color.jpg NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: What’s in a name?

    Names are important. When my son, Rush, (who’s named after my father) and his wife, Vanessa, were expecting their third daughter, I gave up on having a male namesake and suggested, in jest, they call her “Johnnie Pauline.”

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: The Christian and the government

    The church in the Old Testament lived under a theocracy. That is, both the church and state were one. God anointed kings. Civil laws and religious laws were one and the same.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Getting in the chicken business

    Anyone who is my age or older has heard the famous quote, “A chicken in every pot.” It is normally attributed to Herbert Hoover during his 1928 presidential bid.

    April 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • VIEWPOINT: Obsessed with sports

    I remember reading a synopsis of the five reasons for the “Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire” by Edward Gibbon in which he listed the Romans’ obsession with sports at the coliseum as a cause of the fall of the empire.

    April 6, 2014

  • 0912 one bday wm j kelly 2013 mug.jpg KELLY: What do you think?

    On March 21, this paper published an article about a six-month drug trafficking investigation involving 12 people. On the front page was a photo of the 12 people involved. The use of drugs had made them a sorry-looking bunch. The look in their eyes was particularly disturbing.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hamilton, Lee.jpg Time to fix government

    In 1965, the chairman of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, Wilbur Mills, brought legislation establishing Medicare and Medicaid to the floor of the U.S. House. That was my first year in Congress, and I remember vividly the moment when Mills came to the Democratic caucus to explain his plans.

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Review of ‘Noah’

    TV host Glenn Beck and other stalwarts of the Christian right have attacked the recent blockbuster “Noah” as being “pro-animal” and unfaithful to the Bible.

    April 3, 2014

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: While going, disciple!

    The purpose that God has given to His people is to be holy. He has likewise given His people a mission. The mission of God’s people, the church of Jesus Christ, is as clear as His revealed purpose.

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge