Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

July 17, 2013

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Hoping for respect, understanding on abortion issue

(Continued)

A different article which backs the same opinion, filled with facts and statistics that support its arguments, could easily have been found. Certainly, an effective article that does not lower itself to name calling and the use of lies to produce incendiary quotes could also have been found. This article, and particularly the use of the word “Hope” in its headline, made me physically sick, reduced me to tears and has ultimately turned me into something I never wanted nor expected to be: an outspoken political activist. 

Here is what “Hope” means to me: I hope your daughter, granddaughter or favorite niece never find themselves in the position of considering an abortion. But if they do, I hope they have access to a trained physician in a safe environment who can openly provide them with the information and help they need. I hope they have the freedom and the wisdom to make a decision that is right for themselves and their families, taking into careful account their own personal circumstances and the long-term ramifications of their decisions. I hope they are treated with compassion by their families, friends and the health care professionals to whom they entrust their very personal and painful stories. Should they choose to have an abortion, I hope they heal physically, mentally and spiritually, and go on to live healthy, happier lives that, with good health care, can include a family at a later time. I hope parents educate their children about reproductive health, and teach them good morals so that there are dramatically fewer unwanted pregnancies.

I can only hope that incest and rape cease to exist. I hope we elect representatives to our local and national governments who recognize that declaring abortion illegal or making it inaccessible will not make it go away, but will instead move it to back alleys and put all women – but particularly poor women – at great risk. I hope you understand that like Sen. Wendy Davis’s supporters, and as an adoptive mom who places the highest value not only on life but the quality of life of all mothers and their children, I am certainly not pro-abortion; I am pro-choice.  

Finally, I hope you will be wiser and more thoughtful about the articles you choose to print on your opinion pages; that you will apply the same rules to your syndicated columns as the letters you receive from your local subscribers, no matter how different their opinions may be. I hope you choose to serve your readers by seeking out opinions from both sides of an issue that are based on facts that can be verified and that are obtained in a straightforward and truthful manner. I hope your future choices will set an example for your readers that will reflect not only “taste,” but also the values of respect, honesty and compassion.

Text Only
Viewpoints
  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: I have been corrected

    I was complaining about President Obama making promises that he has not kept, such as taxes will not go up one dime or health care will go down about $2,500 per year for a family of four. He said he would cut the deficit in half by the end of his first term. He said he would have an immigration plan in place. What he really meant was that if Congress would allow it, we would have open borders.

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Concern for your pocketbooks

    Dear Editor: My message today is to Democrats out in Parker County and the middle class and moderate-income Republicans in towns and rural areas. 

    July 27, 2014

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Taking care of your tools

    For much of my life I’ve heard the saying, “Take care of your tools, and your tools will take care of you.”  In our modern “throw away world” this has become much less important than it used to be, but down on the “pore farm,” tools still enjoy a prominent position in my daily life.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • PASTOR POPHIN: The greatest joy of all: Jesus

    The first part of this week was a joyous one for me. I took 10 youth to Lake Mineral Wells State Park for three days of day camping. Camp Adventure was the name of the camp. We discovered the joy of the One who created us: Jesus. I am sitting at my desk on the day after the camp writing this article. I am overjoyed by the events of the week, and yet I am physically exhausted. The Lord moved powerfully among our youth.

    July 26, 2014

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Now is the time for all good men...

    When man’s greed, desire for riches, power and control of our nation become greater than their love of humanity and our country, by constantly fomenting discord and hate among the citizens, warmongering and constantly talking of wars against other nations - it is putting political ideology before the welfare of citizens and country. It is time for We the People to take a good look at these men involved - no matter their status in our nation, we call the United States of America and decide whether or not they deserve the privilege and sanctuary of our nation.

    July 25, 2014

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: Finding a church

    God commands His people to “keep holy the Sabbath Day.” The “Sabbath Day” was changed by the apostolic church to the first day, Sunday. The church refers to every Sunday as the Lord’s Day. Each Lord’s Day is a celebration of the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Therefore, a professing Christian will seek to find a local church in which to invest in the kingdom and worship the King! 

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • John Paul Carter-color.jpg NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: What’s your current address?

    Shortly after we moved to Weatherford 19 years ago, the old post office (today’s Court Building) that was literally bursting at the seams was replaced by a new, larger facility – our present mail center that sometimes seems outgrown as we stand in line to buy stamps or mail a package.  

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Good company, better service

    We would like to thank Devin’s Handyman Service, Gary Boase, David Schramm and James Reed for the wonderful job they did repainting our front fence, front porch, back porch, patio and deck. Everything looks new and makes such a difference in our home.

    July 23, 2014

  • PASTOR POPHIN: The joy of unity in church

    Do you enjoy going to church? I mean, do you really enjoy going to church? No matter how you answer, there are some common reasons — or perhaps we would call them conditions — that would cause all of us to truly enjoy going to church. 

    July 20, 2014

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: Don't judge a book...

    Dear Editor: Thursday night, July 17, I was present for a surprisingly interesting experience when state representative candidate Matthew Britt addressed a small group of supporters, followed by a question and answer session.

    July 20, 2014

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA