Weatherford Democrat

Viewpoints

May 19, 2013

Letters to the Editor – May 19, 2013

A rare opportunity

Dear Editor,

Do you remember the “MISSION ACCOMPLISHED” sign that the personnel on the USS Abraham Lincoln displayed to greet President Bush when he went out to greet them?

The sign was made by the sailors and airmen, but from the fire storm that it caused, you would think that the president constructed the sign and climbed up and placed it all by himself.

President Obama says that Osama Bin Laden is dead and General Motors is alive. He thinks that he has completely eradicated Al Qaeda when he killed Bin Laden. In my opinion that is the reason that he failed to provide security for the people in Benghazi. In his mind the terrorists will leave us alone if we show them what nice people we are, we don’t even display weapons.

I don’t have a lot of respect for a commander and chief that tells his underlings to take care of the attack on Benghazi. He leaves the room and is not to be found until the next day. He has got to go to a fundraising event in Nevada.

Have you noticed that he is never present when there is a serious decision to be made? The man does not want his name connected to any thing, that might be detrimental to his constant campaigning.

Campaigning is the only thing that he does well. In a speech to the graduating class at Ohio State University he said that there will be those who will warn you against big government, but don’t pay any attention to them. He mentioned getting your children in school sooner. In my opinion that is the reason that we have so many liberal educators. The sooner you start the better chance that you have of creating more little socialist voters. Instead of listening to that hare brain nonsense, it would be wise to teach your children what happens to those that follow the teaching of Karl Marx.

Text Only
Viewpoints
  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Going on a wild goose chase

    In recent years I’ve written quite a bit about the introduction and negative consequences of non-native or invasive species. Fire ants, killer bees, English sparrows, Asian carp, feral hogs and others too numerous to list have forever changed our local ecosystem.

    April 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTERS TO THE EDITOR: TV offers

    Have you seen those TV offers where they give a price for one product and then offer a second like items for-free? All you have to do is pay a separate shipping and handling charge for the “free” items.

    April 13, 2014

  • John Paul Carter-color.jpg NOTES FROM THE JOURNEY: What’s in a name?

    Names are important. When my son, Rush, (who’s named after my father) and his wife, Vanessa, were expecting their third daughter, I gave up on having a male namesake and suggested, in jest, they call her “Johnnie Pauline.”

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: The Christian and the government

    The church in the Old Testament lived under a theocracy. That is, both the church and state were one. God anointed kings. Civil laws and religious laws were one and the same.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • larry jones cropped:color NOW HEAR THIS: Getting in the chicken business

    Anyone who is my age or older has heard the famous quote, “A chicken in every pot.” It is normally attributed to Herbert Hoover during his 1928 presidential bid.

    April 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • VIEWPOINT: Obsessed with sports

    I remember reading a synopsis of the five reasons for the “Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire” by Edward Gibbon in which he listed the Romans’ obsession with sports at the coliseum as a cause of the fall of the empire.

    April 6, 2014

  • 0912 one bday wm j kelly 2013 mug.jpg KELLY: What do you think?

    On March 21, this paper published an article about a six-month drug trafficking investigation involving 12 people. On the front page was a photo of the 12 people involved. The use of drugs had made them a sorry-looking bunch. The look in their eyes was particularly disturbing.

    April 4, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hamilton, Lee.jpg Time to fix government

    In 1965, the chairman of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, Wilbur Mills, brought legislation establishing Medicare and Medicaid to the floor of the U.S. House. That was my first year in Congress, and I remember vividly the moment when Mills came to the Democratic caucus to explain his plans.

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Review of ‘Noah’

    TV host Glenn Beck and other stalwarts of the Christian right have attacked the recent blockbuster “Noah” as being “pro-animal” and unfaithful to the Bible.

    April 3, 2014

  • tiscione, lou.jpg TISCIONE: While going, disciple!

    The purpose that God has given to His people is to be holy. He has likewise given His people a mission. The mission of God’s people, the church of Jesus Christ, is as clear as His revealed purpose.

    April 3, 2014 1 Photo

Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video