Weatherford Democrat

March 23, 2014

Ballard tops on APC roster

Deep-running playoff teams help populate All-county listing

Weatherford Democrat


Peaster senior Ty Ballard had a bumper crop of talent surrounding him in the most recent season of competition in District 9-2A boys basketball — both on his own team as well as the Greyhounds’ opposition. The Parker County contingent of the district (Peaster, Brock, Millsap) and Class 2A state-champion Ponder, made 9-2A arguably one of the strongest around.

For his consistently-high performance level throughout the season, Ballard has been selected the 2013-14 All-Parker County Most Valuable Player, heading up another group of talent from across the area.

Millsap garnered considerable attention this season, nabbing its first playoff berth in more than 40 years, and making the best of it, with its run ending in the third round, losing to Ponder. For the Bulldogs’ resurgence, the Millsap coaching staff headed up by Josh Jones was dubbed the most effective mentoring crew.

A “one-off” Superlative was also created to recognize a unique contribution by a Millsap senior. Gianluca Adas, a Brazilian exchange student, owns the APC “One-year Wonder” moniker, making significant contributions to the Bulldogs’ playoff season while playing his first year of organized basketball.  He averaged eight points per game, with as many rebounds, and had a dozen double-doubles on the year.

Poolville had a healthy group of players named to the county team, as head coach Steven Stegall has molded the Monarchs into a perennial power in Class 1A ball. Led by Co-Offensive Player of the Year Alex Rodriguez, Poolville made an impressive postseason run all the way to the regional tournament and seem destined to advance a bit farther with each season.

Springtown’s Dawson Meek won the nod for the top newcomer. The sophomore made his presence felt in helping the Porcupines nab the runner-up spot in District 6-3A and looks to provide a nice foundation for Pojo next season.

Brock always has a strong showing on the APC roster and this year is no different. With point guard Bailey Cockburn selected as the top defender in the county, the Eagles placed another handful on the APC roster. 

Brock, ever the contender, fell to state-champion Ponder on a last-second basket at the regional tourney, and will surely make another serious run with its relatively young squad next season.

Despite a tough season in a talented district , Weatherford placed five deserving players on the APC list.


2013-14 All-Parker County Boys Basketball Team


Most Valuable Player   

Ty Ballard         Peaster         Senior


Co-Offensive Players of the Year

Carl Williams        Aledo        Senior

Alex Rodriguez     Poolville     Senior


Defensive Player of the Year

Bailey Cockburn        Brock        Junior


Newcomer of the Year

Dawson Meek    Springtown    Sophomore


APC “One-year Wonder” Award

Gianluca Adas      Millsap      Senior


Coaching Staff of the Year

Millsap — Head Coach Josh Jones


First  Team

     Jonathan Arbuckle     Poolville         Senior

     Collin Boswell        Weatherford       Senior

     Lance Ewell                Brock             Junior

      Colten Wright             Peaster      Sophomore

     Harris Jowell              Brock             Senior

     Jaxon Martin             Millsap           Senior

       Parker Grudt              Peaster       Sophomore

        Dalyn Clanin           Millsap           Junior

      Braxton McCoy        Aledo             Junior

      Dylan Ray            Springtown         Senior


Second Team

Sam Couch            Weatherford        Senior

     Ryan Merrill     Weatherford        Senior

     Luke Bishop               Aledo       Junior         

     Taylor King            Poolville            Junior

     Colton Jack            Poolville            Senior

     Hayden James           Brock       Junior

     Aron Peninger           Millsap   Junior

     Dathan Kemp            Peaster   Senior

     Eric Siewert             Peaster   Senior

     Matt Dunn               Aledo   Senior

     Kruz Dominguez     Springtown       Junior 


Third Team

     Draven Tell             Peaster         Sophomore

      Tony Banks        Weatherford     Sophomore

     Lane Guest         Weatherford     Sophomore

     Micah Thornton        Brock   Junior

  Hayden Mcpherson      Brock   Senior

     Michael Rogers        Millsap    Junior

     Nicholas Losos          Aledo    Junior

     Dawson Gates           Aledo    Junior

     Dylan Brawley         Poolville           Senior

      Colby Bobbitt         Poolville            Junior                 

        Kyle Mercer          Poolville      Sophomore