Weatherford Democrat

June 30, 2013

Aledo, Brock tot up for Top 5 finishes in Cup race

Athletics, academics prove state-level superlative in 2012-13

Weatherford Democrat


A pair of Parker County high schools continue to build upon their respective and already-impressive histories in an annual competition that provides an academic and athletic measuring stick against all other high schools in Texas.

Brock High School edged closer to the top spot in the 2012-13 competition, finishing second behind Class 2A winner Salado. Brock finished third in the previous school year and is a perennial top-ten resident in the Lone Star standings. The school won the Cup in 2009-10 and repeated the feat in 2010-11.

A couple of Lady Eagles teams led the charge for Brock, kick-starting the points collection with a district championship in volleyball, beginning a march that culminated with Brock’s first state championship.

Basketball season provided the encore, with the Lady Eagles taking home a fifth-consecutive state-championship trophy while adding another healthy dose of points toward the Cup tally.    

Brock stands to improve its potential for continued success in its classification even more, and relatively soon, as they are slated to begin UIL competition in football in the 2014-15 school year. Marching band competition may be  in the mix, as well.

Aledo High School finished fourth in Class 4A, an overall improvement in the standings over 2011-12 (eighth) and 2010-11 (tie for seventh).

Aledo is also a past co-winner of the Cup, sharing the top score with Dripping Springs in Class 3A during the 1997-98 school year.  

Cedar Park was a dominating force athletically and academically in the classification, tallying 108 points, 10 points ahead of second-place Highland Park.

Athletically, Aledo perpetuated its success in district competition, taking championships in more than a half-dozen sports. The Ladycats earned Aledo a considerable number of points, wending their way through postseason play to state tournament competition in volleyball, basketball, softball and golf.

The University Interscholastic League (UIL) Lone Star Cup is awarded annually to five high schools, one in each of the five UIL classifications, based on their team performance in district and state championships. UIL tabulations provide recognition for the top ten schools in each classification.

The point system established by the UIL includes State and Area Marching Band, Team Tennis, Cross Country, Volleyball, Football, Swimming & Diving, Wrestling, Girls Basketball, Boys Basketball, Soccer, Golf, Track & Field, Academics, One Act Play, Softball and Baseball.


*2012-13 Lone Star Cup 

Final Standings


Class 5A

      1. Southlake Carroll   122

      2.      Conroe The Woodlands  100

      3. Lewisville Marcus     74

      4. Humble Kingwood     72

      5. Plano West     69

      6. Coppell     61

      7. San Antonio Reagan     60

Cibolo Steele     60

      9. Arlington Martin     57

     10. Lewisville Hebron     54

             Lewisville Flower Mound     54

Katy Seven Lakes     54


Class 4A

      1. Cedar Park                  108

      2. Dal. Highland Park     98

      3. Georgetown     84

      4. Aledo     74

      5. Friendswood     72

Denton Guyer     72

      7. Northwest Nelson     70

      8. SA Alamo Heights     69

      9. Lucas Lovejoy     68

     10. Northside Brennan     66


Class 3A

      1. Argyle     82

      2. Kennedale     78

      3. Stephenville     74

      4. La Grange     72

      5. Abilene Wylie     69

      6. Boerne     52

      7. Lubbock Cooper     50

      8. Fredericksburg     46

      9. Andrews     42

Decatur     42

Liberty Hill     42


Class 2A

      1. Salado     82

      2. Brock     72

      3. Holliday     68

      4. White Oak     66

      5. East Bernard     54

      6. Wall     52

      7. Bushland     50

      8. Hallettsville     48

      9. Sonora     44

     10. Centerville     42

Crawford     42

Tatum     42


Class 1A

      1. Weimar     78

      2. Shiner     58

      3. Lindsay     52

      4. Stamford     50

      5. Cayuga     46

Harper     46

Port Aransas     46

      8. Munday     42

Sundown     42

     10. Grapeland     41


* The last Lone Star Cup tabulations for the 2012-13 school year were made by the UIL on June 14, with the final results officially announced on July 1.