Weatherford Democrat

June 28, 2014

Talented diamond dwellers comprise 2014 APC roster

Weatherford Democrat


One might judiciously hesitate to boast about the baseball talent in one’s own reporting area, compared to the rest of the state — but let’s go ahead and throw caution to the wind.

Five of the seven Parker County prep baseball teams possessed enough diamond savvy, and pretty good leadership to boot, to advance to the postseason after successful district campaigns. Two of those teams, Brock and Aledo, delved deep into the state playoff fray, while the Bearcats displayed the definitive “peak at the right time” to win the Class 4A state title.

The down side of having a bumper crop of baseball-prolific kids is the task of deciding who deserves relative recognition for a stellar season — a thankless task usually, but also an extremely enriching one, building the 2014 All-Parker County baseball teams.

Brock senior Slaten Gough was a consistent triple threat to opposing teams in the 2014 season. A defensive asset at shortstop and an equally daunting weapon at the plate, Gough was also effective as a shut-down relief pitcher. Gough appropriately gets the nod as the APC’s Most Valuable Player.

His Brock teammate Kolbin Mills shares the Superlatives spotlight as the Offensive MVP on the Parker County team.

Aledo understandably made a significant impact on the Superlative club as well, as hurler Chris Reed was named at the top of a very deep and very impressive group of PC pitchers. Behind the plate, Zayne Willems was at the core of the Bearcats’ defensive lineup and is selected the Defensive Player of the Year.

Weatherford freshman Nick Rodriguez was one of the few no-brainer choices for the 2014 roster, singled out as the top newcomer for the season. His senior Roo teammate Andrew Healy is Catcher of the Year.

The coaching staffs receiving recognition on the APC Team received the nod for somewhat different reasons. But both are deserving. Brock mentor Chad Massey and his staff kept the Eagles formidable and focused through the regular and district campaigns, per usual, rolling up an impressive resume of victories.

Chad Barry and his Aledo staff guided the senior-heavy Bearcats into the postseason as a third seed, then promptly took them to a whole other level.

From the 2014 Superlatives to the impressive list of Honorable Mention members, all are worthy representatives of the All-Parker County roster. 


2014 All-Parker County Baseball Roster




Most Valuable Player

Slaten Gough     Brock     Senior


Defensive MVP

Zayne Willems     Aledo     Senior


Offensive MVP

Kolbin Mills     Brock      Junior


Pitcher of the Year

Chris Reed       Aledo      Senior


Catcher of the Year

Andrew Healy     Weatherford    Senior


Newcomer of the Year

Nick Rodriguez  Weatherford  Freshman


Co-Coaching Staff of the Year

Aledo   —   Head Coach Chad Barry

Brock   —   Head Coach Chad Massey


Utility Player of the Year

Titus Gossett     Brock     Sophomore


First Team



Beau Burrows     Weatherford     Junior

Colby Fowler          Brock          Senior



Ryan Neal    Springtown     Sophomore



Tony Rodriguez   Weatherford    Senior

Dakota Durant         Aledo        Senior

Tyson Mauser          Aledo        Senior

Taco Anderson         Aledo        Senior

Keaton Malcom       Peaster      Senior



Wade Rayburn        Aledo     Junior

Jordan Andrae        Brock  Sophomore

Hayden James        Brock      Junior

Blake Berry           Peaster     Junior

Asa Menchaca        Peaster    Junior


Designated Hitter

Hershel Gardner      Aledo     Senior


Utility Player

Garrett Uhl         Aledo         Junior


Second Team



Andy Swain     Weatherford    Pitcher

Ryan Hester     Springtown    Senior



Parker Grudt        Peaster    Sophomore

Cory Bynum    Weatherford     Senior



Luke Glover          Aledo         Senior

Collin Rector     Springtown     Senior

Bradley Bottoms     Millsap      Junior

David Buchanan    Peaster       Senior

Casey McClery     Poolville     Senior

Seth Boleman        Brock    Sophomore



Connor Duer          Aledo          Junior

Chance Nelson   Springtown     Junior

Josh White         Springtown     Senior

Dylan Burton         Millsap       Senior

Logan Isham         Poolville      Junior


Utility Player

Austin Cook      Poolville       Junior


Designated Hitter

Ivan Karabanoff     Peaster      Senior

Ethan Roberts         Brock       Junior


Honorable Mention

Blake Lagrassa    Weatherford    Junior

Colton Clanton        Aledo         Senior

Carter Cammack      Aledo        Senior

John Bodine           Millsap       Senior

Logan Lothrop       Peaster        Junior

Creston Sledge       Peaster        Junior

Cody Royar           Poolville      Junior

Jake Jordan        Springtown      Soph

Garrett Mauldin  Springtown     Junior

Russell Gideon    Springtown    Junior     

Jansen Ivie               Brock    Freshman

Kyle Davis              Millsap      Junior

Hayden Miller          Peaster      Junior