Weatherford Democrat

November 27, 2012

Sharratt nabs district MVP honors



Aledo swept through District 7-4A volleyball play in 2012 and never ceded a game through the 14-match slate. In fact, the Ladycats progressed all the way to the regional semifinals before dropping a game.

Due to the stellar season that took Aledo all the way to the state final, it is no surprise the Ladycats dominated the district selections.

Brianna Sharratt was selected Most Valuable Player by the district coaches, and shares superlative honors with fellow seniors Mallory Powell and Sara Smith.


District 7-4A

All-District Selections




Most Valuable Player

Briana Sharratt - Aledo - Senior

Most Valuable Hitter

Shannon Helm Granbury


Most Valuable Blocker (tie)

Faith Evans Trimble Tech

Sara Smith - Aledo - Senior 


Most Valuable Defensive Player

Breanna Craine - Granbury


Most Valuable Setter

Mallory Powell - Aledo - Senior


Newcomer of the Year

Karis Beasley - Granbury


Coach of the Year

Kathy Goings      Aledo


First Team All-District


Raygan McClelland - Aledo (Junior)

Haylee Bowden - Aledo (Junior)

Madison Lopez - Aledo (Sophomore)

Christine Ferguson - Arl. Heights

Aubrey Ezell - Granbury

Shelby Shade - Granbury

Paige Holt - Granbury

Julia Benford - Southwest

Jobana Tavera - Trimble Tech

Kenley Elam - Western Hills

Kendra Adams - Western Hills


Second Team All-District


Tyler Lucas - Aledo (Sophomore)

Mykah Wilson - Aledo (Sophomore)

Emily Stewart - Arlington Heights

Blair Cowden - Granbury

Jenna Underwood - Granbury

Shavon Felder - O.D. Wyatt

Te’Anna Taylor - South Hills

Morgan Thomas - Trimble Tech

Taryn Strain - Trimble Tech

Erika Gilbert - Western Hills