Weatherford Democrat

May 23, 2014

Gough named MVP for talent-laden District 9-2A

Weatherford Democrat

— Staff Report

Prolific as a position player and hitter, as well as a front-line pitcher for the Eagles, Brock’s Slaten Gough capped a stellar student-athlete career, as he was named the MVP of District 9-2A baseball.

The senior, with yet another talented group of teammates, helped Brock win another district title and make a playoff run.


2014 District 9-2A 

All-District Baseball Teams




Most Valuable Player

Slaten Gough - Brock (Sr)


Pitcher of the Year 

Dillon Meadows - Paradise (Jr)*


Offensive Player of the Year

Kolbin Mills - Brock (Jr)


Defensive Player of the Year

Asa Menchaca - Peaster (Jr)


Newcomer of the Year

Shane Scott - Ponder (Fr)*


Utility Player of the Year

Titus Gossett - Brock (So)*


Coaching Staff of the Year

Brock  - Head Coach Chad Massey


First Team 



Colby Fowler - Brock (Sr)

Collin Knight - Ponder (Sr)



Skylar Black - Paradise (Jr)*



Seth Boleman - Brock (So)*

Jarrett Holt - Paradise (Sr)

Hayden Miller - Peaster (Jr)

Keaton Malcom - Peaster (Sr)

Kyle Davis - Millsap (Jr)

Lane Peace - Alvord (Sr)



Jordan Andrae - Brock (So)

Blake Berry - Peaster (Jr)

Jonathan Musgrave  - Alvord (Sr)

Tanner Valentine - Paradise (Sr)


Designated Hitter

Ivan Karabanoff - Peaster (Sr)


Second Team 



Creston Sledge - Peaster (Jr)

Logan Lothrop - Peaster (Jr)

John Bodine - Millsap (Sr)



Riley Low - Ponder (So)

Parker Grudt - Peaster (So)

Ryan Bartholomew - Alvord (Fr)



Jansen Ivie - Brock (Fr)

Austin Hogan - Paradise (Jr)

David Buchanan - Peaster (Sr)

Josh Peterson - Ponder (Sr)

Bradley Bottoms - Millsap (Jr)



Hayden James - Brock (Jr)

Carson Knight - Ponder (So)

Chase Harris - Ponder (Fr)

Dillon Burton - Millsap (Sr)


Designated Hitter

Ethan Roberts - Brock (Jr)


Honorable Mention



Kyle Hannah (Jr)



Ty Madison (Sr)

Cameron Schult (Jr)



Dalyn Clanin (Jr)

Mitchell Coker (Sr)

Dalton Norris (Sr)

* - Indicates unanimous selection