Weatherford Democrat

March 16, 2014

Aledo guard nets APC MVP

Alyssa Dry a ‘smooth operator’ running Ladycats’ offense

Weatherford Democrat


The British jazz singer Sade was certainly not paying tribute to basketball, nor any particular cager, when she recorded “Smooth Operator” a few decades ago, but one could certainly cue up the song as background music for a highlight film featuring Aledo’s Alyssa Dry, the 2013-14 All-Parker County Girls Basketball Teams’ Most Valuable Player.

The junior guard was easily the top scorer in the county, but was also a prolific rebound and assist force that helped propel Aledo to another district championship and postseason run. Whether directing the Ladycats’ half-court offense or inciting fast breaks, Dry was a primary focus of opposing defenses, but was also the bane of offensive foes, recording 130 steals on the season.

The number of playoff teams Parker County produces each year is a testament to the level of talent in the area. Of the seven prep teams in the county, five moved to postseason play. The APC rolls reflect the talent on the playoff squads, but also issue earned kudos to the other competitive teams from the area.

While Dry sits alone as the MVP, the top offensive and defensive postings are shared shout-outs.

Aledo’s favoritely-monickered player, Justis Szczpanski-Beavers (and that is not the junior’s entire name), shares the Defensive MVP designation with Springtown’s Brooklyn Dauenhauer.

The superlative choices on offense are a study in contrast. While Brock junior Lexie Ducat prowled the paint for inside feeds to score for the Lady Eagles, Weatherford senior Abbye Shearmire was draining 3-pointers on the perimeter and tacking on free throws at an 85 percent clip. Both methods netted about the same results statistically and were both significant;y valuable to their respective teams’ success.

There were several very good candidates for APC’s Newcomer of the Year award, including Peaster’s well-rounded talent Baylee Chapman (a freshman) and Brock long-range threat Rachel Harrell (a sophomore). Both were the top newbies from their respective districts. 

But there were probably none more impactful than Weatherford sophomore Maddie Dorris, who provided an inside presence for the Lady Roos and contested boards against a steady flow of talented opposition.

With a lone senior in its ranks, Brock’s coaching staff, led by head coach Chance Westmoreland, guided the Lady Eagles to yet another UIL tourney in Austin. Brock’s instilled never-say-die attitude very nearly brought home another title as it made a late run against a big and talented Wall squad.

An unexpected inspiration prompted another Superlative’s category for the 2013-14 roster. Though there is purportedly (mathematically, anyway) no such thing as an effort of 110 percent, one might be debated vigorously by area coaches on the phenomenon. “Hustle” is an absolute necessity for an effective defense, and while there is an abundance of energy on virtually all of the Parker County girls’ teams, one particular player displayed training-video material for “getting after it.”.

Brock’s Madi Mayfield made the most of her minutes on the court, which were precious ones in the Lady Eagles’ rotation. The 5-9 junior was often looking up at her nemeses, but was contesting every rebound and claiming possession of every loose ball in a flurry of activity all over the court.

For her efforts, and the definitive example of hustle to teammates and opponents alike, Mayfield has been selected as the APC “110” Award recipient. Whether the category becomes a staple of the APC roster or is a one-off designation, it is certainly warranted for praise on the 2013-14 roster.

  All of the area teams are well-represented, and deserving, in the three-team roster of the APC. 


2013-14 All-Parker County 

Girls Basketball Teams



Most Valuable Player

Alyssa Dry       Jr.      Aledo


Co-Offensive MVPs

      Lexie Ducat      Jr. Brock

Abbye Shearmire  Sr.  Weatherford


Co-Defensive MVPs

Justis Szczpanski-Beavers  Jr.  Aledo

Brooklyn Dauenhauer Jr. Springtown

Newcomer of the Year

Maddie Dorris  Soph. Weatherford


Coaching Staff of the Year


Head Coach Chance Westmoreland


The APC “110” Award

Madi Mayfield    Jr.     Brock


First Team

Tracy Johnson     Soph    Poolville

Taylor Fulmer        Sr.       Brock

Kaylee Black       Sr.       Aledo

Breann Forbes        Sr.       Aledo

Megan Wood          Sr.       Aledo

Kallie Dobbs       Sr.     Poolville

Sydney Herbel     Soph.   Millsap

Bailey Ivey           Jr.        Brock

Olivia Seli          Jr.       Peaster

Ashley Mainord     Sr.   Springtown

Rachel Harrell       Soph.   Brock


Second Team

Faith Woodring    Sr.   Weatherford

Baylee Chapman   Fr.     Peaster

Madison Mittie    Soph.    Aledo

Alexia Villa       Jr.     Poolville

Jolee Carswell       Jr.      Millsap

Trisha Jacobs     Soph.     Brock

Kendyl Dean     Jr.    Springtown

Jordan Doremus   Sr.   Springtown

Katelynn Mainord Sr.  Springtown

Rachel Williams    Jr.      Brock

Madi Mayfield       Jr.      Brock


Third Team

Vasha Moore        Fr. Weatherford

Gracie Ferguson   Fr. Weatherford

Taylor Babcock    Sr.    Springtown

Adrienne Easter    Fr.    Springtown

Katie Cumby     Soph.   Poolville

Sarah Rodgers       Sr.       Aledo 

Marlowe Hutson   Sr.     Aledo

Cydnie Bynum      Jr.       Brock

Allie Popeck     Soph.   Brock

Rhylie Makawe     Jr.       Aledo

Rachel Smith       Sr.      Peaster

Abbi Hatton       Fr.   Springtown