Weatherford Democrat

March 14, 2013

Powell heads up district honors

Weatherford Democrat



Staff Report

Aledo Senior Mallory Powell led a contingent of nine Ladycats cagers who populated the roster of the 2012-13 All-District teams for District 7-4A. Powell, who scored 16 points per game and more three assists per contest during the regular season, was selected the district’s Offensive Player of the Year. 

Joining Powell is sophomore post Justis Szczepanski-Beavers, who stuffed enough shots to earn the top defender nod for the district. Though Aledo will miss Powell and her fellow seniors, with four juniors and three sophomores earning spots on the all-district teams, the future looks to remain bright for Aledo during the next couple of years, at least. 

Head Coach Rusty Johnson led the Ladycats through several ranked opponents to reach the state tournament.


District 7-4A  All-District Roster  — Aledo


Offensive Player of the Year

Mallory Powell             Senior


Defensive Player of the Year

Justis Szczepanski-Beavers         Sophomore


First Team

Alyssa Dry             Sophomore

Kaylee Black             Junior


Second Team

Bryce Frank         Sophomore

Breann Forbes            Junior


Honorable Mention

Bronte Frank              Senior 

Marlowe Hutson                Junior