Weatherford Democrat

February 24, 2013

Roos open season with ‘Classic’ wins

Weatherford Democrat


Staff Report

By the end on play on Friday at the Jerry Durant Baseball Classic, at the Weatherford venue, the Weatherford Kangaroos had racked up four wins — all of them convincing ones. With a combined 4-game score of 33-6, the pitching and hitting were equally effective as a jump start to the Roos 2013 season.

On Thursday, in a 11-1 win over Abilene, Grayson Huffman picked up the win on the mound, with Andy Swain getting some relief work. 

Weatherford was led at the plate by Dustin Williams with two hits, including a double, and three RBI’s. Mitchell Dworskyhad two hits, two RBI’s and two runs scored. Brock Riebe crossed the plate three times.

Beau Burrows pitched a complete game in the 12-2 win over South Grand Prairie in the nightcap. 

The Roo’s were led again at the plate by Dustin Williams’ four-hit, four-run performance, ending the game with a 3-run shot over the centerfield wall. Weatherford also received offensive support from Riebe 2 hits, 3 runs, Dworsky 2 hits, 2 runs, Rogers 3 hits, 3 RBI’s including double and triple, Will Young 1 hit, Andrew Healy 1 hit, and Tony Rodriguez 1 hit.

Friday began with a 4-1 Weatherford win over Mansfield Legacy. Will Young pitched six shutout innings, spelled by Cory Bynum, who closed out the final frame. 

Bynum also led the hitting for the Roos, with two hits and a run batted in. Andrew Healy stroked a pair of hits, while Riebe’s lone hit was a double. 

Matt Riney climbed the mound against Midland Christian, throwing a 3-hitter with 10 K’s in a complete-game effort. The WHS boys won, 6-2.

The Kangaroos were led at the plate by Andrew Healy with two hits and a RBI, Andy Rogers had a pair of hits, as well, one of those for a triple. Rogers also drove in two runs.

Brock Riebe, Mitchell Dworsky, Dustin Williams, and Tony Rodriguez also picked up hits.

Saturday’s results were not available at press time.

Weatherford returns to tourney play later this week, traveling to play in the Burleson Tournament.