Weatherford Democrat

June 16, 2013

Williams slugs way to APC’s Most Valuable

Weatherford Democrat


About the only negative you could conger from the season Roos Dustin Williams had was that the senior first baseman did not get to finish it. Helping Weatherford get back to yet another postseason, a clock-work occurrence for the Kangaroos after district baseball is done, Williams’ mishap in a late-district contest took him out of the lineup.

The Roos could have used Williams’ prolific bat in the order, a stick that produced a batting average above .570 on the season. But already well on the mend, Dustin heads off to play at the next level as the 2012-13 All-Parker County Most Valuable Player.

Brock’s Shay Phillips returned to the superlatives list after a senior campaign that featured the lead-off hitter’s bat, as well. The Eagles’ ace pitcher missed starts through part of the season, but eventually climbed the hill again by playoff time. But his bat remained active throughout, enough to be named his district’s MVP.

Aledo head coach and his staff get the nod for the top coaches of the year, leading the Bearcats to a district championship and into the Area round.

All of the Parker County nines are worthy represented on the 2013 APC roster, with the level, and quantity, of talent prompting a healthy list of members.   


2013 All-Parker County Baseball Teams



Most Valuable Player

Dustin Williams    Weatherford   Senior


Defensive Player of the Year

Zayne Willems   Aledo   Junior


Offensive Player of the Year

Shay Phillips   Brock   Senior


Co-Pitchers of the Year

Beau Burrows   Weatherford   Sophomore

Colby Fowler   Brock   Junior


Catcher of the Year

Andrew Healy    Weatherford    Junior


Co-Newcomers of the Year

Titus Gossett   Brock   Freshman

Andy Rogers Weatherford   Junior


Utility Player of the year

Tyler Nelson   Brock   Senior 


Coaching Staff of the Year

Aledo — Head Coach Chad Barry


First Team

  Garret Gaines       Brock          Senior

  Corbin Taylor    Springtown      Senior

  Brock Riebe     Weatherford     Senior

  Matt Riney        Weatherford    Senior

  Will Young        Weatherford    Senior

  Daulton Thomas    Millsap       Senior

  Chris Reed           Aledo          Junior

  Ryan Hester     Springtown      Junior

  Luke Glover          Aledo          Junior

Casey McCleery      Poolville     Junior 

  Connor Duer          Aledo     Sophomore

  Asa Menchaca      Peaster   Sophomore

  Kolbin Mills            Brock     Sophomore

  Joseph Earle          Brock    Sophomore

  Blake LaGrassa Weatherford Sophomore 


Second Team

  Grayson Huffman  Weatherford    Senior

  Caleb Frysinger         Aledo         Senior

  Baker Roberson       Aledo         Senior

  Ridge Cook              Aledo         Senior

  Cole Norman        Springtown     Senior

  Colton Clanton          Aledo         Junior

  John Bodine             Millsap        Junior

  Dalton Norris             Millsap       Junior

  Tyson Mauser           Aledo         Junior

  Taco Anderson          Aledo         Junior

  Dylan Burton            Millsap        Junior

  David Buchanan      Peaster        Junior

  Matt Lester              Peaster       Junior

  Bradley Bottoms      Millsap   Sophomore

  Daniel Lopez     Poolville     Sophomore


Honorable Mention

  Rhett Butler           Millsap         Senior

  Nick Holloway        Peaster        Senior

  James Hensley      Peaster        Senior

  Andrew Brouhard  Springtown    Senior

  Mitchell Dworsky   Weatherford   Junior

  Tony Rodriguez     Weatherford   Junior

  Carter Cammack     Aledo       Junior

  Zane Scott              Aledo       Junior

  Mark Swift               Aledo   Sophomore

  Hayden James         Brock   Sophomore

  Creston Sledge       Peaster  Sophomore

  Hayden Miller         Peaster  Sophomore

  Blake Berry            Peaster  Sophomore

  Dalyn Clanin           Millsap   Sophomore

  Matthew McCartney  Brock     Freshman

  Seth Boleman           Brock     Freshman