Weatherford Democrat

December 7, 2013

2013 APC volleyball roster simply ‘Super’

Weatherford Democrat


Overall, the prep volleyball teams of Parker County may have fallen a bit short of last season’s accomplishments (just barely), but that factor was hardly a reflection on the calibre of players area teams continue to display.

Nearly all of the area squads were prevalent in their respective districts, and individually were more than significant, with 15 players being named to their district’s superlative categories.

Beginning with a pair of MVP selections (Springtown and Brock), the other superlative categories were nearly all covered when combining all of the selectees.

While it is a great testament to the quality of athletes and coaches, it made for a tough call when putting together the 2013 All-Parker County teams. But, at the same time, it is awe-inspiring when looking at such a conglomerate of talent, and in many cases, the number of young players receiving recognition bodes very well for respective schools’ teams to come.

In some cases, a player named to one superlative category at the district level owns another slot in the APC, but in looking at individual stats, it is clear to see that the same situation existed in district selections. Due to similar shuffling to get recognition where it is due, Springtown twin sisters Ashley and Katelynn Mainord shared the Blocker of the Year nod.

Getting the nod for the APC’s Most Valuable Player, is Springtown senior Shelbi Meek, who not only had formidable numbers hitting and defending, but was the overall catalyst for the Lady Porcupines offense with more than 600 assists.

Brock’s Bailey Snow and Kanyon Klein, both juniors (note ‘youth’ reference above), share the MVP Hitter prize, and are a lethal duo at the net.

Madison Goings, an Aledo freshman named the top hitter from District 7-4A, achieved impressive numbers in virtually all areas of her game, and is probably the most accomplished player ever to be named the APC’s Newcomer of the Year.

Three other young players from Parker County teams were awarded the top newbies from their respective districts, and easily made the APC teams, as well.

Brock head coach Keith Guyon took the Lady Eagles back to the state tournament, and, with his assistants, receive kudos as the top coaching staff.

The potential individual shout outs for the county team could easily continue. Suffice to say that the 48 players listed herein would be a welcome addition to any prep team lucky enough to have them. Local coaches are very happy to keep them exactly where they are.

2013 All-Parker County Volleyball Roster


Most Valuable Player

Shelbi Meek – Senior – Springtown

Co-Hitters of the Year

Bailey Snow — Junior — Brock

Kanyon Klein — Junior — Brock

Newcomer of the Year

Madison Goings - Freshman – Aledo

Setter of the Year

Haylee Bowden – Senior – Aledo


Libero of the Year

Tyler Lucas – Junior – Aledo

Co-Blockers of the Year

Ashley Mainord – Senior – Springtown

Katelynn Mainord – Senior – Springtown

Defensive Player of the Year

Kendyl Dean – Junior – Springtown

Coaching Staff of the Year

Brock — Head Coach Keith Guyon

First Team

Brooklyn Dauenhauer – Jr. – Springtown

Kallie Dobbs — Senior – Poolville

Shannon Watkins — Soph — Brock

Nikole Vlahopoulos — Junior — Brock

Morgan Strickland — Senior — Millsap

Karissa Wolfenberger — Senior – Peaster

Emma Murphy - Senior – Weatherford

Hannah Wright – Senior – Weatherford

Raygan McLelland – Senior – Aledo

 Sabra Washington — Soph. — Brock

 Sandy Weyenberg — Senior – Peaster

Sarah Beeler — Senior – Peaster

Second Team

Hannah Schwartz – Senior – Weatherford

Sarah Schwartz – Soph – Weatherford

Tracy Johnson — Soph – Poolville

Alexia Villa — Junior – Poolville

Madison Lopez – Junior – Aledo

Kaylin Wurster — Senior — Brock

Evalli Morris — Junior — Brock

Rachael Gustafson — Freshman – Peaster

Tiffany Herget — Junior – Poolville

Tana Jones — Senior – Poolville

 Maddie Dorris – Soph – Weatherford

Emily Clayton – Junior – Aledo

Emily Smith – Freshman – Aledo

McKenna Ballard — Freshman – Peaster

Brenlee Jones — Freshman – Poolville

Third Team

Cooper Mullins - Junior – Weatherford

Paxton Parliament — Soph — Brock

  Ashley Gooch — Soph — Brock

Sydney Herbel — Soph — Millsap

Mikayla Lane — Soph – Peaster

  Brooke Chandler — Soph – Peaster

Monika Naron — Junior – Poolville

Abbigal Hatton – Freshman – Springtown

Maddie Pickett – Senior – Aledo

Maddie Mittie – Soph – Aledo

Madison Ginn – Junior - Aledo