Weatherford Democrat

March 24, 2013

Aledo’s Johnson earns MVP nod on all-county roster

Weatherford Democrat



Aledo’s Taylor Johnson was not only the most prolific of Parker County scorers during the 2012-13 prep basketball season, but made his presence felt at the non-scoring end of the court, as well. The 6’4” junior guard, also named to the Region I notables squad by the Texas Association of Basketball Coaches, snagged eight rebounds per game while averaging two and a half steals per contest.

There is already a queue of Division I schools interested in the junior, but he will have another season of contributions to the Bearcats’ program yet to make.

Four of the seven prep boys’ basketball teams from the county headed in to postseason play, with another a hair’s breadth away from a berth. As usual, and with few exceptions, Parker County schools are well-recognized in their respective districts and the 2012-13 pool of talent is no different.

A formidable number of superlative selectees can cause a veritable traffic jam, but that just heightens the calibre of talent found on the first and second squads, while creating an overall honors lists most coaches would love to have on their rosters.

From District 9-2A, Peaster’s Ty Ballard and Brock senior Tre’ Ewell performed with consistency as the mainstays of their respective teams’ scoring ability and were named the top offensive players. 

Heading up a very salty First Team, the Poolville tandem of senior Tanner Dobbs and junior Alex Rodriguez, who were Co-MVPs from District 11-1A, Div. I, were statistical bookends, averaging 18 and 17 points, respectively. Both were active rebounders and defensive assets for head coach Steven Stegall, who has led the Monarchs to postseason brackets every year since taking the reigns.

With Brock taking its 2012-13 campaign another step closer to the brass ring, Jeff Bell and his staff get kudos for spurring the always-talented Eagles to the very edge of the state’s top rung.  Brock leads the head count, with six players named to the APC squad.

Fifteen of the athletes named to the roster are seniors. With 33 players named to the team, there is plenty of youth that will be around for next-season glory


2012-13 All-Parker County 

Boys Basketball Teams




Most Valuable Player      

Taylor Johnson       Aledo      Junior


Co-Offensive MVP      

Ty Ballard        Peaster       Junior

 Tre’ Ewell          Brock        Senior

Defensive Player of the Year

Cole Allen     Springtown     Senior


Newcomer of the Year 

Coy O’Boyle     Poolville     Freshman


6th-Man of the Year      

Draven Tell     Peaster    Freshman


Coaching Staff of the Year

Brock - Head Coach Jeff Bell




Tanner Dobbs     Poolville      Senior 

Alex Rodriguez     Poolville    Junior

     Lance Ewell          Brock     Sophomore

Dylan Carrington       Brock    Senior

Josh Petermeier    Peaster     Senior 

Thomas Loving   Springtown    Senior

Dalton Scott    Springtown       Senior

Tony Rodriguez  Weatherford    Junior




Parker Grudt     Peaster     Freshman

Lane Southern       Brock      Senior

Luke Hummel      Brock        Senior

Dalyn Clanin   Millsap    Sophomore

Dylan Ray      Springtown      Junior

Caleb Brown    Springtown      Junior

Kyle Gromann       Aledo       Senior

Jonathan Arbuckle  Poolville   Junior

Collin Boswell  eatherford     Senior




Josiah Bingaman  Peaster    Senior

Travis Gough      Aledo       Senior

Carl Williams       Aledo       Junior

Ryan Merrill  Weatherford    Senior

Colton Jack      Poolville      Junior 

Casey McCleery  Poolville    Junior

Bailey Cockburn  Brock   Sophomore

Jaxon Martin       Millsap       Junior

Lawson Priess  Weatherford   Senior