Weatherford Democrat


October 14, 2012

Homecoming Week signals new class of HoF inductees



The Weatherford High School Athletic Hall of Fame committee will conduct its 9th-annual induction ceremony on Saturday. The ceremony will take place in the Jerry Durant Auditorium at Weatherford High School. There will be a light brunch starting at 9:00 a.m., with the program beginning at 9:45. 

Four individual athletes  and one team will be inducted for the HoF Class of 2012. The individuals are Mark Hicks (Class of 1974), John Moughon (Class of 1948), Ed Smith (Class of 1959) and Teresa Reynolds (Class of 1982). The team inducted will be the 1952 WHS boys track team.

The 1952 Weatherford High School track team was the first from WHS to win a district title in the 1950’s, competing in several major track meets. The team placed individual participants and relay teams in the Blue Bonnet Relays, the Possum Kingdom Relays, the State Qualifiers Meet at McMurray College, the Region 2 AA Meet and the Class AA state meet.

The Roos ran in triangle Meets with Fort Worth Paschal, Fort Worth North Side, and Fort Worth Arlington Heights, with the WHS boys winning all three events.

Weatherford’s major district rival was the Wichita Falls Coyote squad, despite a significant school-size disparity. WHS had approximately 300 students, while Wichita Falls’ enrollment was close to 2,000. Still, under the tutelage of Coach George Brownlee, the Kangaroos remained competitive.

The Kangaroos won first place in District 4-AA, defeating the Coyotes who had won the district title every year since 1935. Winning the district championship over the large school was a formidable accomplishment for WHS.

Editor’s note: This is the first of a series that will run through Friday featuring the 2012 WHS Athletic Hall of Fame inductees.

1952 Weatherford

   Track Team


      Joel Bennett       Dudley Caraway       Larry Cogburn       Clarence Culwell       Jack Edwards

   *Charles Gates

     Pat Keoughan       *Mike McDaniels

Weldon “Lefty” Parks

      Bill Puryear

     James Simms

    Charles Stephens

     Arthur Stockstill

     Deene Sullivan

*Coach George Brownlee


* — deceased

Text Only
  • 0727 Folse-Joy coach changes Brock head coaches stand pat

    BROCK — After a another successful year of athletic campaigns helped position  Brock in the top ten of the Lone Star Cup, the Brock ISD head coaching staff will enter the new school year with all (familiar) hands on board, much to the joy of its administrators. 

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • 0727 WaterRoos KLawyer Weatherford Water Roos send 19 swimmers to TAAF meet

    The City of Weatherford Parks and Recreation Swim Team competed in the Texas Amateur Athletic Federation’s (TAAF) Region 4 Swimming Championship in Keller on July 19 and 20.

    July 25, 2014 4 Photos

  • 0727 YBs Wford 8U Blue tourney winners Blue Roo 8U win at Granbury

    Area all-star teams continue to reap rewards in tournament play, with the latest being the Weatherford Blue 8U All-Star squad. 

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • 0727 BBs AHS state champs recognized by board Aledo nine honored at Board gathering

    Members of the 2014 Aledo Bearcats state champion baseball team were honored recently at the Aledo ISD board meeting.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Summer athletic camps — July/August

    Staff Report

    Summer athletic camps become a bit more “meaningful” in the late days of July and into  August, at least for some high school and middle school athletes.

    In most cases, the youth football camps include grades 6 through 8, and though there is no contact involved, some of the instructors of he camp may be getting a preview of the talent coming their way in just a few short weeks.

    Team volleyball camps, stretching from grades 4 through 12, provides a segway for many of the campers who will soon be entering workouts for the impending volleyball season.

    July 25, 2014

  • Sports in brief - July 25, 2014

    NEW YORK (AP) — Major League Baseball says umpires made the correct call when they stopped a game between the Texas Rangers and New York Yankees because tarp trouble left the field too wet.

    July 24, 2014

  • 0725 GSb AHS state champs at AISD board mtg Ladycats recognized by AISD Board

    The Aledo ISD school board honored the Aledo Ladycats 2014 softball team at their last meeting. 

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • 0724 BBS AHS TMauser TSWA all-state Barry shares top coaching honors

    Apparently being lauded for, among other coaching triumphs during the prep baseball season, Class 4A mentors Chad Barry (Aledo) and  Wes Kolle (Victoria East) shared the honors of Coach of the Year as selected by the Texas Sports Writers Association (TSWA)in an announcement released on Wednesday.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • This date in baseball - July 24

    1909 — Nap Rucker of the Brooklyn Dodgers struck out 16 batters in a 1-0 win over the Pittsburgh Pirates.

    July 23, 2014

  • 0723 BBs TSWA Colby Fowler Sports writers tag Gough First Team

    The Texas Sports Writers Association (TSWA) chose Brock’s Slaten Gough as First Team shortstop on the Class 2A All-State Baseball Team, released on Tuesday. 

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

Latest NASCAR Headlines
Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow