Weatherford Democrat

October 14, 2012

Homecoming Week signals new class of HoF inductees

Staff Report



The Weatherford High School Athletic Hall of Fame committee will conduct its 9th-annual induction ceremony on Saturday. The ceremony will take place in the Jerry Durant Auditorium at Weatherford High School. There will be a light brunch starting at 9:00 a.m., with the program beginning at 9:45. 

Four individual athletes  and one team will be inducted for the HoF Class of 2012. The individuals are Mark Hicks (Class of 1974), John Moughon (Class of 1948), Ed Smith (Class of 1959) and Teresa Reynolds (Class of 1982). The team inducted will be the 1952 WHS boys track team.

The 1952 Weatherford High School track team was the first from WHS to win a district title in the 1950’s, competing in several major track meets. The team placed individual participants and relay teams in the Blue Bonnet Relays, the Possum Kingdom Relays, the State Qualifiers Meet at McMurray College, the Region 2 AA Meet and the Class AA state meet.

The Roos ran in triangle Meets with Fort Worth Paschal, Fort Worth North Side, and Fort Worth Arlington Heights, with the WHS boys winning all three events.

Weatherford’s major district rival was the Wichita Falls Coyote squad, despite a significant school-size disparity. WHS had approximately 300 students, while Wichita Falls’ enrollment was close to 2,000. Still, under the tutelage of Coach George Brownlee, the Kangaroos remained competitive.

The Kangaroos won first place in District 4-AA, defeating the Coyotes who had won the district title every year since 1935. Winning the district championship over the large school was a formidable accomplishment for WHS.

Editor’s note: This is the first of a series that will run through Friday featuring the 2012 WHS Athletic Hall of Fame inductees.

1952 Weatherford

   Track Team


      Joel Bennett       Dudley Caraway       Larry Cogburn       Clarence Culwell       Jack Edwards

   *Charles Gates

     Pat Keoughan       *Mike McDaniels

Weldon “Lefty” Parks

      Bill Puryear

     James Simms

    Charles Stephens

     Arthur Stockstill

     Deene Sullivan

*Coach George Brownlee


* — deceased