Weatherford Democrat

February 27, 2013

Seat-seeking candidates file as Friday deadline nears

Weatherford Democrat

— From Staff Reports

Friday is the deadline for persons interested in seeking a seat on one of the various city councils or public school districts with a May 11 election to file.

Because of a charter amendment the Weatherford City Council is not conducting an election this year. Here is a rundown of the filing activity and seats open this May for other boards and councils around the area:

Weatherford ISD

The incumbents for the three board member seats whose terms are up in May – Place 3 Trustee Charlie Martinez, Place 4 Trustee Gail Wirtanen and Place 5 Trustee Charlie Martinez – have all filed for re-election and so far have not drawn  opponents.

The filing deadline for WISD’s election is 5 p.m. Friday. Applications can be picked up at the District Services Building, 1100 Longhorn Drive.

Aledo ISD

Two seats are up for election this May on the AISD, and both incumbents – Place 4 Trustee Steve Bartley and Place 5 Trustee Bobby Rigues – have filed to retain their seats and at present are not opposed.

The filing deadline is 4 p.m. Friday, and applications can be picked up at the Aledo ISD business office, 1008 Bailey Ranch Road. Applications can be mailed to the office, c/o Anne Grace, at 1008 Bailey Ranch Road, Aledo TX 76008.

Millsap ISD

Two seats with expiring terms in May have so far drawn three candidates – incumbents Tommy Lucia and Jerry Walker – as well as challenger Timothy Kukuk. With a contested election, the top two vote winners will win the seats.

The filing deadline is 5 p.m. Friday. Applications can be picked up at the Millsap ISD administration office, 201 E. Brazos.

Springtown ISD

There is at least one contested race in SISD this May. Mike Ray has filed to keep his Place 1 seat, and has a challenger in Rusty Brawner. Meanwhile Place 2 incumbent Keith Springfield and Place 3 incumbent Vicky Trichel have filed for re-election and new three-year terms.

Place 7, a two-year unexpired term, will also be considered in a special May 11 election. The vacancy was created by the resignation of Kelly Mayo in July 2012. Al Garrett was appointed to fill the vacancy.  The first day to apply for a place on the special election was Tuesday, and filing for the seat runs through March 11. Garrett and Jay Grubis have submitted their candidate’s papers.

Candidate packets for the SISD can be picked up at the SISD Administration Office, 301 E. 5th St.

Hudson Oaks

Hudson Oaks has seen two of three incumbents with terms up in May file as of Tuesday morning.

In Place 4, Mayor Pro Tem Tom Fitzpatrick has filed for another term and is the only one to have filed for the position.

Incumbent Brian Lixey has filed to keep his Place 2 spot while newcomer Marcus Povero has filed for Paula Wigley’s Place 5 position. Wigley had not yet filed. All three positions are for two-year terms, according to City Secretary Shelley Major.

Filing continues from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. in the city secretary’s office inside city hall through Friday.

Willow Park

The two-year terms for mayor, council member place 1 and council member place 2 are open this year in Willow Park.

The mayor’s position is currently held by Richard Neverdousky, the former mayor pro-tem who replaced Marvin Glasgow after Glasgow’s resignation last year.

Brian Thornburg, a former Planning and Zoning Commission member, has filled the place 1 position by appointment since it was vacated by Neverdousky.

Gene Martin currently holds the place 2 council member position.

As of Tuesday afternoon, both Neverdousky and Martin had filed for the position of mayor and place 2, respectively, according to City Secretary Yael Shushan-Hoffman.

Those wishing to file for a place on the ballot may do so at 516 Ranch House Road between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. through Friday.


Four positions in Annetta are currently open for filing.

Those interested can file to run for the two-year positions of mayor, currently held by Bruce Pinckard, place 3, currently held by Chuck Sheridan, and place 5, currently held by Farrar Patterson.

The unexpired term of place 4, currently filled by Richard Machak, who was appointed by the council following the resignation of Jamie Harris last year, is also open for filing.

Those wishing to run for office may pick up packets between 9 a.m. and 4 a.m. weekdays at Annetta City Hall, located at 1200 Old Annetta Road. City hall will be open until 5 p.m. Friday.

Annetta North

The two-year terms for mayor, currently held by Rob Watson, and alderman places 4 and 5, currently held by Kenneth Hall and Stonie Hamilton, are open in Annetta North this year.

The application for a place on the ballot can be downloaded from the Secretary of State’s website ( and mailed to the city post office box:

The Town of Annetta North, P.O. Box 1238, Aledo, TX 76008. Applications can also be given to City Secretary Barb Wise, who can been contacted at 817-441-2663.

Annetta South

The mayoral position, currently held by Gerhard Kleinschmidt, along with town council places 3 and 5 will be up for election this year in Annetta South. Those interested in filing for a place on the ballot can do so at Annetta City Hall.

City of Springtown

Springtown has three two-year city council positions open this year, including mayor, currently held by Doug Hughes, place 2, currently held by Denise Taylor, and place 4, currently held by Robert Wilson.

Those who wish to turn in an application to be placed on the ballot may do so between 7:30 a.m. and 4:30 a.m. Monday through Friday at 102 East Second Street in Springtown.


Reno has three city council positions up for election this year, including mayor, currently held by Lynda Stokes, place 2, currently held by David Andrews, and place 4, currently held by Eric Hunter.

Those interested in filling the position can turn in an application at Reno City Hall, located at 195 W. Reno Road, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. through Friday.


Millsap has three 2-year-term city council positions, currently held by Chris Schofield, Michael Kinman and Linda Schulz, open this year.

Those wishing to serve can pick up the paperwork at Millsap City Hall at 208 Fannin St. from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. through Friday, though city hall is closed from noon to 1 p.m.