• Franco-Texan Land Co. Building
118 Houston St.
Constructed about 1880, the building’s history includes its use as the office for the Franco-Texan Land Company in 1884. An upstairs back room was purchased for $250 by Samuel W.T. Lanham, an attorney who became the governor of Texas. When it was used as the Western Union Telegraph Office, election results were announced from the building. This brick structure, with outside cast iron stairways and a lambrequin tin front entrance canopy, was used for storage by a local funeral home for many years. A 2011 renovation has given renewed life to this unpretentious historical landmark.
• Prince Memorial CME Church
410 W. Church St.
Prince Memorial Christian Methodist Church celebrated its 158th anniversary in April of 2012. The present church building, constructed after a 1912 storm, is a white clapboard edifice featuring an original bell tower, arched “cathedral windows” and steeply pitched gables. Prince Memorial is the oldest church building standing in Weatherford, and is the second oldest in Parker County.
• Fant Home
316 S. Lamar St.
Weatherford banker W.S. Fant built this Greek Revival-style house in 1890, attempting to duplicate the architectural style found in his native state of South Carolina. In January of 2008, the house was severely damaged by a catastrophic fire. During restoration, special attention was given to the balanced columns on the raised front porch on the East and South ends, to the original 12-foot beaded ceilings, the wainscoting and the hardwood floors.
• Chandor Gardens
711 W. Lee St.
Portrait artist Douglas Chandor and his wife Ina Kuteman created a lovely home and a unique site that blends the elegance of an English garden with the serenity of a Chinese garden. The home is surrounded by an English bowling lawn, a triple-tiered fountain, a mountain grotto and playful dragons dancing on a marble-encrusted pedestal.