Weatherford Democrat

Top News

November 27, 2012

Historic homes

31st annuel Candlelight Tour slated

(Continued)

WEATHERFORD — • Baker-Martin Home

414 W. Lee St.

Built by J.D. Baker in 1893, the home was purchased in the early 1900s by attorney Preston Martin and his wife Juanita, who taught violin at Weatherford College. Their daughter Geraldine enjoyed the stables and the orchard located near the home. The second story features a large sun porch over a porte cache. A second daughter, internationally acclaimed actress Mary, joined the family in 1913. The family later moved to 314 W. Oak St.

• Bragg-Bulls Home

409 S. Alamo St.

Local realtor Jim Bragg Bulls commissioned the design and construction of this California ranch-style home in 1957. The architect who designed the home also completed designs for actor John Wayne. This asymmetrical rectangular home exhibits a long, low profile with large windows, a hip roof and overhanging eaves. Each room of the home takes the visitor to a different time period or a different part of the world.

• Campbell Home

201 W. Rentz St.

This house was built in 1902 by hardware merchant Mr. Carter. Local physician Dr. William M. Campbell Ida purchased the home during World War I and lived in the house until the doctor’s death in 1958. The beautiful home features tin ceilings, wainscoting, period lighting and elegant casework around doorway windows.

• Doss Heritage and Culture Center

1400 Texas Dr.

The Doss Center is a Texas history museum, which showcases permanent and traveling exhibits in spacious state-of-the-art spaces. A large room off the main foyer adapts easily to small concerts, family gatherings, business meetings and conferences. Visit the Candlelight Gift Market on Dec. 8 from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. for special gift selections.

• Millsap Log Cabins

204-208 Fannin St., Millsap

Two log cabins were moved from west of Millsap into the town in the early 1900s. Donated by Dr. A.T. Koonce, the 1852 cabin was once the home of the town’s namesake, Fuller Millsaps. Originally located on Rock Creel, it was used as a relay station on the stagecoach route from Weatherford to Palo Pinto. An 1877 single-room cabin housed the Benjamin M. Porter family as well as Millsap’s first post office. For the transfer into town, each log was numbered, removed and then reassembled at its new location. Donated by the Brewster family, the cabin is furnished with antique postal equipment.

• Millsap Methodist Church

402 S. Lamar St., Millsap

In 1875, Mr. G. M. Dodge donated Millsap City Block 40 to the trustees of the Millsap Methodist Episcopal Church. The current cross-shaped structure erected in 1924 was in need of extensive repairs by the 1890s. Funds were raised for the installation of vibrant stained-glass windows, which depict the twelve disciples encircling the official flame-and-cross logo of the methodist church.

Text Only
Top News
Must Read
Top News
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive
Poll

The City of Weatherford is considering an ordinance that would ban smoking inside restaurants and enclosed areas where food is prepared, sold or consumed. Do you agree with this proposal?

Yes
No
Undecided
Don't care
     View Results