The deadline for candidates to file for the May 2 local election is Friday.

Many positions in city government and school boards are open for filing.

The city of Weatherford will have two filing opportunities for the general and special elections. Filing for the general election, which concerns Places 1 and 2, ends on Friday, but filing for the special election, for Place 3 which was recently vacated by Councilman Curtis Tucker, starts on Wednesday and ends March 3. Incumbents for Places 1 and 2— Mayor Pro Tem Heidi Wilder and Council member Jeff Robinson— have filed for re-election.

Weatherford ISD Board President Mike Guest filed for re-election on the school board along with newcomer to the board Toby Taylor of Alpha Graphics. Trustee Tiffany Fowler is up for re-election, but she has not yet filed.

Hudson Oaks Mayor Marc Povero, Place 1 Council member Tom Marquardt and Place 3 Council member Marty Schrantz have all filed for re-election.

As of Friday afternoon, no one has filed for the open city positions in Willow Park or Peaster. The city of Willow Park City Council Places 3, 4 and 5 — currently occupied by Greg Runnebaum in Place 3, Lea Young in Place 4 and Gary McKaughan in Place 5 — are up for election, as are positions for mayor and two city commissioners in Peaster, the incumbents for which are Mayor Don Smelley, Commissioner Paul Casey and Commissioner Gerald Hobson.

On the Aledo City Council, incumbents Mayor Kit Marshall, Place 4 Council member Kimberly Hiebert and Place 2 Council member Matt Ribitzki filed for their places.

Also in Aledo, incumbents on the Aledo ISD school board — President Hoyt Harris and Board member Julie Turner — have filed for re-election.

Peaster ISD board of trustees has two places up for election held by President Mike Bowling and board member Chuck Bratcher. Bowling has re-filed and former board president Scott Johnson has filed for a place.

In the city of Millsap, current Mayor Jaime French filed for re-election as did city council incumbents Teresa Howard and Stella Casey.

Andrea Schrick filed for a position on the Millsap ISD board of trustees, joining current board member Morgan Williams as among the candidates who have filed. Current Board Vice President Mike Burton and board member Allen Williams are also up for re-election but have not filed as of Friday afternoon.

For the Springtown ISD school board, Chris Gilley is running for Place 4. Ryan Lee Steele Nichols and Mark Patrick Bryant are running for Place 5. Neither of the board’s incumbents up for re-election — President Amy Walker and Secretary Jody Lowery — have filed for re-election.

Parker County Elections Administrator Don Markum said early voting will run from April 20-28. No voting will take place on Saturday or Sunday. For more information, visit

Recommended for you