The Weatherford Art Association has announced the 2019 winners of the Peach Festival Art Competition. 

The pieces of art created by both students and adults are on view at Weatherford’s Doss Cultural Heritage Center. You can vote each day for the People’s Choice Award for both a student art and adult art. The winner of the Adult People’s Choice Award will receive $200 and the Student winner will receive $50. 

Adult winners in each of the four categories received $150 for a first prize, $125 for second, $100 for third and a ribbon for Honorable Mention. Students received $30 for first, $20 for second, $10 for third and a ribbon for Honorable Mention.

All the cash awards for each show the Weatherford Art Association organizes come from donors in the community. The 1st Financial Bank sponsored the student awards which went to art students in Parker County. Other donors included PlainsCapital Bank, Linda Whitehouse, Colleen Erickson, Jack Eidson and Cindi Neverdousky. Kathy Cunning donated in honor of Roger Grizzard and Michelle Crider made a donation in the honor of Maxine Carter. 

Linda Groom, artist, teacher, jewelry designer was the judge for this show. 

Adult winners included:


First place: Marian Kalka, “Bringing in the Remuda”

Second place: Jon Vandagriff, “Portrait Pose”

Third place: Tammy St. Denis, “Peach Petal of Clark Garden”

Honorable Mention: Pamela Steege, “Tae Tae”

Experimental /Mixed Media / 3D

First place: Judy Mason, “Shopping Break,” Mixed Media

Second place: Michelle Crider, “Y?,” Sculpture

Third place: Cathy Woodard, “Hibiscus,” China Painting

Honorable mention: Julie Goode, “Ocean View,” Weaving

Works on Paper

First place: Connie May, “Iris,” Watercolor

Second place: Dottie Vandagriff, “The Gannet,” Watercolor

Third place: Kathy Cunning, “Viking,” Watercolor

Honorable Mention: Colleen Erickson, “Fishing Boat,” Watercolor

Works on Canvas

First place: Carrol Richardson, “Friends for Lunch,” Oil

Second place: Cindi Neverdousky, “Texas Night Sky,” Oil

Third place: DiAnne Arnette, “Sunday Brunch Alone,” Oil

Honorable Mentions: Jack Eidson, “Whispers of the Wind,” Oil; Megan Sterle, “Zuba,” Acrylic

Best in Show: Don MacLaughlin, “Pulling Pipe”


Student winners included:

Kindergarten—third grade

First place: Stryker Stegall, “My Cow Moo Moo”

Grades seven—nine

First place: Steleigh Stegall, “Spotted Cow”

Second place: Anna Turner, “Bengal Tiger”

Third place: Jacob Back, “Lena Luther”

Honorable Mention: Anna Turner, “Fresian Pony”

Grades 10-12

First place: Emily Thomas, “Stricken”

Second place: Maci Cargill, “Summer Peaches”

Best of Show: Emily Thomas, “Stricken”

Awards were presented on June 20 at the Doss with all in attendance. The next show scheduled is the Spirit of the West. This is an open show for all who would like to enter with cash prizes which are determined by the number of entries and the donations received. Art intake will be Sept. 5 and 7 and the show will run from Sept. 12 through Oct. 24. The awards ceremony will be Sept. 19 at the Doss. For more information visit