Dozens of students from area high schools converged on the Weatherford College campus Friday morning for the 16th annual Coyote Area Math Championship.

Students competed in pre-calculus and calculus competitions via written tests.

The day also included guest speaker Dr. Jim Kirby, retired professor of mathematics from Tarleton State University, who spoke on the topic of preparing for career fields that don’t yet exist. He spoke to students about the importance of learning tools they will use later in life in ways they may not even imagine since, as technology advances, the future job market is unknown.

Plains Capital Bank in Weatherford once again sponsored the event.

Winners of the 2018 Coyote Area Math Championship are:

Team Results


1st Place: Trinity Christian Academy - Hannah Baker, Baylor White, Andrew Ludwig and Audrey Wortham

2nd Place: Stephenville High School - Calvin Jones, Holden Haile, Seth Hammond and Jordan Carter

3rd Place: Glen Rose High School - Grace Hill, Jordan Nabors, Ashley Hang and Andrea Mendoza


1st Place: Bellevue High School - John Walker, Trey Terry, Shae Lesando and Gabriel Garza

2nd Place: Mineral Wells High School - Jace Duncan, Noah Kuhn, Mia Elder and Hailey Tincher

3rd Place: Trinity Christian Academy - Caleb Chesney, Abby Skaggs, Cody Athey and Jacob Sherman

Individual Results


1st Place: Baylor White - Trinity Christian Academy

2nd Place: Hannah Baker - Trinity Christian Academy

3rd Place: Payte Treadaway - Glen Rose High School

4th Place: Calvin Jones - Stephenville High School

5th Place: Hally Shi - Abilene Christian School

6th Place: Mason Christiansen - Weatherford High School

7th Place: Lane Swafford - Weatherford High School

8th Place: James (Tony) DeLeon - Brewer High School

9th Place: Grace Hill - Glen Rose High School

10th Place: Mariana Rios - Stephenville High School


1st Place: Trey Terry - Bellevue High School

2nd Place: Noah Kuhn - Mineral Wells High School

3rd Place: Jon Walker - Bellevue High School

4th Place: Dalton Sprague - Poolville High School

5th Place: Caleb Chesney - Trinity Christian Academy

6th Place: Harrison Hawkins - Glen Rose High School

7th Place: Sarah Tanner - Weatherford Christian School

8th Place: Jarrett Foland - Weatherford Christian School

9th Place: Nathanael Phillips - Bridgeport High School

10th Place: Mia Elder - Mineral Wells High School

Recommended for you