Weatherford ISD and the WISD Ex-Student Association announce the recipients for the prestigious 2019 Distinguished Alumnus and Service Awards. Established in 1998, the Distinguished Alumnus Award is the highest honor given to a Weatherford High School graduate. The Distinguished Service award is the highest honor given to a former WISD employee or school board member.

2019 Distinguished Alumnus Award recipients are:

• Joe Bertram Franz, Ph.D., Class of 1934 (awarded posthumously)

• Jon Vandagriff, Class of 1953

• Lynda Kay Hare Scribante, Class of 1958

The Distinguished Service award was given to Gary Beck, a former WHS teacher.

 “Through their actions and careers, these Distinguished Alumni recipients show that Weatherford ISD has a long tradition of providing a world-class education,” Weatherford ISD Superintendent Jeffrey Hanks said. “Honoring a former employee demonstrates the tremendous influence our staff has on our students’ lives.”

The Weatherford ISD Ex-Student Association will honor these recipients during Homecoming weekend, Sept. 19-21.

Recommended for you