MVP Parish

Forrest Murphy/WD Sports

Poolville sophomore pitcher Trendan Parish was named the 2019 All-Parker County Baseball Team MVP.

Below is a list of superlative awards as well as a first-team roster and honorable mentions comprised of players from all nine Parker County high school baseball teams.


The All-Parker County team is comprised of coaches’ nominations, all-district lists and input from Weatherford Democrat employees.



Trendan Parish, sophomore, Poolville

Opposing batters faced steep odds each time Parish took the mound in 2019.

With a whopping 80 strikeouts in 42.2 innings pitched  to go along with an ERA of 1.143, the sophomore proved a key figure in the Monarchs’ successful quest for a playoff berth.

Even more, Parish was hardly a one-sided player, enjoying a district batting average of .454 and on-base percentage of .500.

District 10-2A’s Pitcher of the Year, as well as Parker County’s 2018 Newcomer of the Year, Parish stands to continue building on an already impressive resume in his final two years of high school ball.


Offensive Player of the Year

Garrison Berkley, junior, Aledo

Berkley was an offensive force for a loaded Bearcats’ squad which saw 13 of its players earn all-district awards.

The junior converted a .403 batting average (17 singles, five doubles, one triple and four home runs) and on-base percentage of .538 into 29 RBIs and 24 runs scored.

Berkley was also named District 4-5A’s Offensive Player of the Year.


Defensive Player of the Year

Cooper Nelson, senior, Brock

Between his work on the mound and first base, Nelson proved a defensive stalwart for the Eagles, helping the team reach the Class 3A regional finals.

The senior’s pitching stat line of 54 strikeouts in 84 innings pitched, an ERA of 1.16 and record of 9-3 (including five shutouts) was only matched by his cerebral play on the corner bag.

Named a first-team pitcher in District 7-3A, Nelson closes out his high school career having made major contributions to multiple Brock outfits over the years.


Newcomer of the Year

Landon Ellington, sophomore, Weatherford

Ellington took on a number of roles for Weatherford, seeing playing time at catcher and pitcher as well as the outfield, responding to each assignment with great confidence and self-assurance.

Taking home District 3-6A’s Newcomer of the Year, Ellington put together a strong campaign which included a batting average of .320 (23 singles, six doubles and two triples).

Combined with his defensive chops behind the plate and out in the field for the Roos, the sophomore is in line to continue pushing the boundaries of an already high ceiling over the next two years.


Utility Player of the Year

Joseph Grimes, sophomore, Peaster

One of Peaster’s few returning varsity players from 2018, Grimes provided the team with consistency in the infield, on the mound and at the plate.

Batting an impressive .500 to go along with 26 RBIs in district, Grimes also put up an ERA of 2.33 on the mound as well as proving a sure-handed glove at third base.

Named a first-team pitcher in District 7-3A, the sophomore stands to play a major role in helping the Greyhounds return to 2018 heights, when the team reached the Class 3A regional finals.


Pitcher of the Year

Carson Lightfoot, sophomore, Brock

Owner of 69 strikeouts in 50 innings pitched, an ERA of 1.26 and 9-1 record on the mound (including two shutouts), Lightfoot’s sophomore season proved an incredibly productive one.

Also responsible for helping spearhead the Eagles’ series comeback versus Bushland in the Class 3A regional semifinals, Lightfoot proved his mettle on the mound time and again, with two more years of high school ball still ahead for him to continue honing his craft.


Coach of the Year

Clegg Smith, Weatherford Christian School

Smith led an incredibly resilient young team of nine freshmen, one sophomore and one junior to a TAPPS Division V state title, defeating Lake Jackson Brazosport, 7-6 in the state finals.

WCS found itself tied or trailing late in each of its four postseason games, yet Smith and company willed their way to wins in each. 


Below is a first-team roster comprised of players from all seven county high school softball teams.


 Players are listed by school, not by ascending or descending order. 


 Also, players included in the above superlative categories are not included in the following first-team roster.



Mason Riney, senior, Weatherford; Pierce Morris, senior, Weatherford; Lukas Loran, senior, Weatherford; Chris Molina, senior, Weatherford; Jaden Ard, junior, Aledo; Creed Willems, sophomore, Aledo; Logan Hewitt, junior Aledo; Dylan Mach, junior, Aledo; Nathan Fingar, junior, Aledo; Jake Bishop, junior, Aledo; Zach Reinert, senior, Aledo; Tyler Riddle, sophomore, Brock; Jase Lopez, senior, Brock; Caleb Satterfield, junior, Brock; Cooper Allen, senior, Brock; Jaxson Gleaton, sophomore, Brock; Payton Smith, senior, Millsap; Lane Brian, junior, Millsap; Thomas Jordan, junior, Millsap; Easton Wells, senior, Springtown; Christian Whitaker, senior, Springtown; Caden Farmer, junior, Peaster; Willard Frizzell, junior, Poolville; Hunter Brown, senior, Poolville; Nate Gammill, junior, Poolville; Marcus Enriquez, senior, Poolville; Tito Gabaldon, senior, Trinity Christian Academy; Kayden Kelley, senior, Trinity Christian Academy; Chance Roberts, senior, Trinity Christian Academy; Preston Gist, senior, Trinity Christian Academy; Carson Wert, senior, Trinity Christian Academy; Jacob Sherman, senior, Trinity Christian Academy; Jaxon Foland, freshman, Weatherford Christian School; Ethan Smith, freshman, Weatherford Christian School; Andrew Couser, freshman, Weatherford Christian School; Clay Dukes, freshman, Weatherford Christian School


Below is a list of All-Parker County Team honorable mentions (by school).


Honorable Mentions

Autry Johnson, senior, Aledo; Max Lucas, junior, Aledo; Tripp Jones, senior, Brock; Parker Bounds, senior, Brock; Andrew Guisinger, senior, Springtown; Cristian Hernandez, freshman, Springtown; Garrett Hardin, junior, Peaster; Braden Hardin, senior, Peaster; Cade Adams, senior, Peaster; Christian Rushing, senior, Poolville; Cade Hines, sophomore, Poolville; Ethan McCain, junior, Poolville; Cody Athey, senior, Trinity Christian Academy; Gage Scott, senior, Trinity Christian Academy; Brayden Smalley, freshman, Trinity Christian Academy; Bryson Smith, sophomore, Weatherford Christian School; Ethan Suss, freshman, Weatherford Christian School; Logan Perkin, freshman, Weatherford Christian School.

Recommended for you