Weatherford's AJP earns All-Parker County girls team MVP

Weatherford’s Anna Jefferson-Polk was named the All-Parker County Girls Basketball Team MVP.

Parker County MVP:

Anna Jefferson-Polk, senior, Weatherford. 

Jefferson-Polk powered the Lady Roos’ offense, finishing her senior campaign averaging 21 points per game.

Even when opposing teams focused their defensive attention toward her, Jefferson-Polk found a way to score in bunches.

Despite being the only returning varsity player from the Lady Roos’ 2016-2017 campaign, Jefferson-Polk helped lead Weatherford to a playoff berth.

Offensive Player of the Year: 

Kelli Burkhalter, senior, Peaster.

Burkhalter was the Lady Greyhounds’ leading scorer on the season.

She received first team All-District, while averaging 15 points per game.

She especially came on strong during postseason play, earning a combined 47 points and 19 rebounds during the Lady Greyhounds’ three playoff games.

Burkhalter hit the last second shot during Peaster’s postseason contest against Colorado City which sent the contest into overtime.

Defensive Player of the Year:

Rylee Lavender, senior, Brock.

Lavender outmuscled opponents near the rim all season, giving the Lady Eagles a strong presence inside the paint.

She was also a vocal leader out on th court, helping direct her teammates into position.

Lavender excelled at driving inside and drawing opposing teams into foul trouble.

Newcomer of the Year:

 Shanna Teague, freshman, Springtown.

 Teague, despite being a freshman, managed to average 12 points per game, as well as four rebounds per game during her first season with the Springtown Lady Porcupines.

Teague also led her team in minutes played per game with 24.

Coach of the Year:

Woody Young, Poolville.

Young helped lead the Poolville Lady Monarchs to the Class 2A regional quarterfinals, their deepest playoff run since 1976.

First Team (By School):

(Note: Players included in the previous categories are not included in the “First Team” roster.)

Gabbie Huggins, senior, Weatherford; Taylor Morgan, sophomore, Aledo; Sarah Haeussler, senior, Aledo; Janessa Payne, sophomore, Aledo; Elizabeth Allanach, junior, Aledo; Karlee Eddy, senior, Springtown; Faith Gibson, junior, Springtown; Hanna Turman, senior, Springtown; Brittany Schnabel, junior, Millsap; Madi Bunn, junior, Millsap; Kaiti Mizeski, freshman, Millsap; Hailey Allen, junior, Millsap; Paxton Bean, senior, Millsap; Taylor Cotton, freshman, Millsap; Mia Cherry, senior, Brock; Emilee Popeck, senior, Brock; Lacie McKinzie, junior, Brock; Olivia Lewis, sophomore, Brock; Jessica Leek, junior, Brock; Baylee Hull, senior, Peaster; Taryn Cast, senior, Peaster; Lexi Heiser, freshman, Poolville; Payton Jennings, freshman, Poolville; Ryan Jennings, senior, Poolville; Julia Burks, sophomore, Weatherford Christian School; Cooper Moore, TCA; Maggie Nichols, junior, TCA; Emma Quarles, junior, TCA; Payton Alberts, freshman, TCA; Hanna Brown, senior, TCA; Jordan Diomede, TCA; Macee Hartt, TCA; Libby Gear, TCA; Michaela Perales, TCA.